I Ain’t Ready Yet

     Well, guess who sent me an e-mail this week? Yup, you guessed it, the Right Reverend Jake. I was especially honored that he took the time to think of me, as his schedule is, as usual, quite jamb-packed. He told me that he is off to Hawaii, (at the congregation’s urging of course) to “re-convert the  heathen islanders” who have apparently returned to their primordial ways.

     He also has been invited to be a judge at the annual “Honolulu Hula Hoedown and Spam cook-off”…  “featuring entrants and recipes from around the Islands and the world.” 

     But I digress, his e-mail was short and to the point as is his wont, for he is after all, a man on a mission. He asked me in his missive, to pass on to you, my Brothers and Sisters, a message of hope, yes I said HOPE, that is his message to you! Did I hear an AMEN? For the Reverend Jake is, if nothing else, a man of “the glass is half-full” ilk, (though his glass is usually half-full of the finest, the grape has to offer) but he, in his wisdom has plotted out for us, the ideal plan for living life to the fullest. Of course he, as any good teacher, is also putting his plan into practice on a regular basis, as many of you are well-aware. Can I get an AMEN on that, my sisters and brothers?

     So without any further delay, and with a wish for a Sunday to remember, I give to you now, The Right Reverend Jake’s outlook on life and the way he feels that it should be lived.

       Yours, in spirit,

Jake the Lesser.

Hula dance competition

The “Holy Hula” part of the event to be Judged by The Right Reverend Jake, Pastor of the Church of Saint Cyber Space.

I Ain’t Ready Yet

My body is old,

but, my mind remains young.

So I’ll continue the fight,

’til the last bell, is rung,

and the final sweet note,

of my life’s song, is sung.

And “God take me, I’m ready,”

has rolled off my tongue.

 ***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 11/25/12

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, education, God, humor, life, Music, Songs and Dances, Sunday, wishing, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Ain’t Ready Yet

  1. AinaBalagtas says:

    Warmest and kindest to regards Reverend! Tell him to email me if he has time and pray for me to get out of Queens Hospital soon. It smells stinky here. 😞

  2. AinaBalagtas says:

    Warmest and kindest regards to Reverend! Please tell him to email me, only if he has time, and pray for me as well, so I could get out of here at Queens soon. It smells stinky out here. Great post!

    • I was unaware that you were in hospital, I “pray” that it is not serious, and that you will fully recover very soon. Stay safe my friend, and keep me informed of your progress. Rev. Jake

      ________________________________

  3. Sally says:

    That was dark I didn’t expect it….

    • Really? I thought it was just the opposite.. Live your life as well as you can, for as long as you can, until YOU are READY to go.. That was the intended message, but it is good to know that others interpret things differently. Aha, that gave me a thought, thanks!

    • Thanks to your comment, I came up with this. I’ll call it “Sal’s Blessing” to keep in anonymous, unless you prefer Sally’s Blessing, let me know.. Anyhow, here it is: May you live your life
      in your own way.
      And may that way,
      be with style and with grace.
      Then be it Heaven or Hell
      that you go to,
      you’ll go with a smile
      on your face.
      Jack.

Leave a Reply

