Belle Of The Ball

     I have been trying to figure out how to explain to you, what you are about to experience over the next two days. First off, I must state UNEQUIVICALLY, that neither “character” that you are about to meet is a reflection of myself, in habit or trait, nor to any person that I associate with, or have ever associated with and for that matter, have ever known personally, (that I am aware of) because though this first character was created with humor and fun in mind, Tuesday’s comes from the complete opposite end of the spectrum.

     The reason it has been so difficult in trying to explain all of that to you is because both of these poems were written in succession just this past week. No sooner had I finished “Belle Of The Ball” than “A Childhood Denied” was begun. Both were finished in less that 24 hours. And as you will witness, I don’t try to control my thoughts, and therefore I do not, as I have said, know where some inspirations or ideas originate. That is why I have    indicated from day one of this blog that there will be some things that you will like and some that you definitely won’t. So knowing that, please take the next two poems as having been fostered anonymously..By a disturbed mind.

     Make someone’s Monday better,

Jake. 

Belle Of The Ball

Oh, the dress, it had fit

just perfect and right,

except ‘cross the butt

it was little bit tight.

But the bra and the spanx

had done their job well,

and the secret they kept

no one would tell.

Now the earrings had sparkled

and the necklace did too,

but, the most eye-catching thing

was a size thirteen shoe.

But, the six-inch high heel

had given way to the pump,

for the dress on its own

would highlight the rump.

So, one look in the mirror

had then, said it all,

there’d be no doubt about it

he’d be the belle wi of the ball.

 

Jack Downing

Nov. 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 11/19/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Freedom, humor, life, men, no secret keep, poet, reception, Songs and Dances, Spirits, truth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Belle Of The Ball

  1. Sally says:

    Funny…I believe the size 13 pump gave it away!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Haha!!!! I think I might have seen him once……

Leave a Reply

