Introspect In Retrospect

     Here it is folks, my life in a nutshell…

I’m hoping that all of you have a fabulous Friday,

Jake.

My life in a nutshell

Well I told you

INTROSPECT IN RETROSPECT

A bigger fool, there’s never been,

than the one that’s living, in my skin.

That is the thought, of this here man,

who went through life, without a plan.

*

 Accepting days, as they passed by,

never viewing, with the inner eye,

never seeing days and weeks,

until the years, the bones, caused creaks.

*

 Never frugal, or self-controlled,

as money through, the fingers rolled,

tomorrow always, the start anew,

but, as for today, I’ll have my due.

*

 Then tomorrows, there are few,

and regret’s life’s meadow’s dew.

So, sow thy seed, but tend, thy crop,

and take only cuttings, off the top.

***

 Jack Downing

Nov. 2009

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 11/2/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in fleeting time, history, honesty, joy and sorrow, life, lifetime, old days, poet, reflections, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introspect In Retrospect

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I don’t think this is about you at all! I think you have a plan!!! Great piece!

Leave a Reply

