Promised Gifts & The Finest Gift

     Those of you who have been with me awhile are aware that I honestly do not know where some of my material comes from, or from whom. I have mentioned before that I have “visitors” that “help” me with my writing, (God knows I need the help) and that spawned this gem from “Reflections” #3. 

I believe that I,

have more than one,

identity within.

For when I read,

the words I write,

I ask myselves again,

which of me,

will share the blame,

for that movement, of the pen?

…………….

     Most of the “visitors” remain anonymous even to me. But, you’ve heard me speak of Reverend Jake, and I believe JoJo stepped to the fore not that long ago. Well she, (that is an assumption based on the tenor of the words and viewpoints) returned this week to share another poem based on ‘her’ views from the feminine side of the fence. The irony of this is, that her/our poem was written first,but seemed to be in response to a poem that had yet to be written.. How eerie is that? Okay, if not eerie, then at least confusing, right? Anyway, two poems for the price of one today. I will give you the second poem first, and then the response, which was really the first one, oh, I’m getting a headache. But, it’s Saturday, so you’ll have all weekend to read them, take your time.

     Have yourselves a wonderful weekend,

Jake.

Promised Gifts

I shall bear a rose to you

for each these lonesome days.

And a ring of gold, for your fair hand,

when I’ve returned to stay.

*

 I shall bring to you a silver tray

that bears all precious stones.

One for each these passing days

that you have spent alone.

*

 But most of all, I’ll bring true love

that I’ve carried far and near.

Tis that the gift of greatest worth,

that I’ll give to you, my dear.

***

 Jack Downing

Oct. 2012

 ……………………………………………………

The Finest Gift

Send me not, your roses,

nor gifts of glitter gold.

Just bring to me your own true love,

and I’ll pledge to you my soul.

*

 You need not give me silver

nor jewels, of any kind.

Just bring to me your own true love,

and seize my heart and mind.

*

 No, I do not wish your silver,

nor roses, jewels, or gold.

Just bring to me your own true love,

for true love’s not bought or sold.

***

 Jack Downing

Oct. 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 10/20/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in fine jewelry, honesty, humor, mischievious, poet, reception, reflections, Spirits, true love, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Promised Gifts & The Finest Gift

  1. Maureen Urban says:

    How true and how romantic are these two poems. Keep writing Jack! I’m enjoying my Saturday morning sipping a cup of coffee with Pandora playing in the background & reading poetry. How much better can it get…..

  2. Sherry says:

    Your talent is quite extraordinary. I find that as a writer, my “voice” was a rather big shock to me, when it finally came forth. Perhaps I too have multiple “me’s” that pop out as the occasion demands. Thanks for finding me which allowed me to find you. I am always happy to have a moment’s repose to relax and enjoy what you and your others have to say.

    • First of all, thanks Sherry. I started writing just a couple of years ago as song lyrics, believe it or not, and for no apparent reason. I have no musical talent whatsoever, I didn’t know anyone in the industry, it was just poems with a tune in my head. I used to run them by a friend of mine and he finally said to me “why don’t you just write poems” and I put more effort into the poetic side than the music side. I just wrote what came out of the pen basically. Whatever character of my personality got to the pen first, they were in charge. What I/we have done is really diverse beyond my comprehension.
      I’m sorry for the extremely long response to your very kind words. But again, thank you for your enthusiasm, encouragement and a new friendship.
      Jake.

  3. Sally says:

    Very insightful and of course….Great

Leave a Reply

