Recollections

     Every word of the following is the truth, the whole truth and…well you know the rest. I could have given it the title “Jack Downing, the younger years” but, that would be too self-promoting, not that I’m adverse to a little self-promotion mind you, but, “a time and a place for everything” they say, and this is neither..

     To underscore my good fortune I will add, that all of this occurred during the years 1965-1972 at the height of the Viet Nam War, and I often think how different it all might have been..Save for the grace of God. 

     Enjoy my travels everyone,

Recollections

I have been, to Bermuda,

and, I’ve been to Spain,

and I went from Italy,

to Germany, by train.

*

 I’ve seen beaches, in the south of France,

and the fortresses, of Malta,

and the primates, on the rock,

that they call, Gibraltar.

*

 I have been, to mainland Greece,

and the islands, that surround,

but, I regret, in Ireland,

I barely, touched the ground.

*

 Also, Cuba and Jamaica,

were on my itinerary,

and courtesy, of Uncle Sam,

I saw them all, for free.

***

~Jack Downing~

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 10/15/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in history, Liberty, monkey, old days, poet, seafarers, ships, traveler, U.S. Government, Words on Wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

