Scratchin’ For Dollars

Do you have the itch?

SCRATCHIN’ FOR DOLLARS

Well, I’m a ‘scratch-aholic‘,

I’m lookin’ for the kill.

Give me, a couple dollars,

then go scratchin’, I will.

$

I’ll scratch, with a dollar,

I’ll scratch, with a fin,

I’ll scratch, with a sawbuck,

hopin’ for the win.

$

I’ll scratch with a twenty,

and if I could, with a dime.

But, give me a dollar,

and it’s scratchin’ time.

$

Riches in an instant,

that’s just, what I need.

’cause there’s a mortgage, to pay,

and the children, to feed.

$

Yes, I’m a ‘scratch-a-holic’,

I’m lookin’ for the kill.

Give me, a couple dollars,

then go scratchin’, I will.

$

Now there, is a number,

they say, I should call,

if my paycheck is gone,

’cause I gambled, it all.

$

But, they say, that those tickets,

help the cities, and towns.

Now I think, I bought this one,

and a few more, around.

$

I got callouses, on my fingers,

from scratchin’, all day long.

They say, there’s big winners,

But I say, they’re wrong.

$

Now, I’ve got a problem,

I know that, for sure.

But, when I win the big one,

then I’ll, take the cure.

$

I’m a ‘scratch-a-holic’,

I’m lookin’ for the kill.

give me, a couple dollars,

then go scratchin’, I will.

$

Yeah, give me, a couple dollars,

then go scratchin’, I will.

$$$

Jack Downing

Aug. 2009

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 10/11/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, good luck, humor, joy and sorrow, men, mischievious, repent, Success, wishing, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scratchin’ For Dollars

  1. I used to be addicted to these things but spending the bucks on lotto makes more sense. Rather win a few million than $10.

  2. Sally says:

    I don’t know whether I want to run out and buy a ticket or count my $…

Leave a Reply

