Random Thoughts

     In yesterday’s post I talked of life’s changes, today I’m going to go into the “song lyric” folder, and have another look at those changes, though this time, I’ll view it through the differences between expectation and reality.

     This was one of the very first of my works. And as it is dated Oct. 2008, that would make it exactly four years old this month, though as I read it, I’m not sure if I’ve progressed at all since then…And I had such high expectations…

A smile on a Saturday seems to come so easily, why not share it?

Have a wonderful weekend,

Jake. 

Sorry, it just seemed appropriate..

RANDOM THOUGHTS

I thought I’d be a millionaire,

I thought I’d go to Spain.

I thought I’d have a summer home,

along the coast of Maine.

I thought I’d be a happy man,

if I had all the gold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

 *

I thought the world was mine alone,

just laid there at my feet.

I thought that I was born to win,

and never taste defeat.

I thought that I would always be,

adventurous and bold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

 *

I thought I’d write a journal,

of my exotic trips.

I thought I’d travel round the world,

on planes and trains and ships.

I thought the world, would surely beg,

my stories to be told.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

*

I thought I’d be forever young,

I thought I’d cruise through life.

I thought I’d have a beauty queen,

for my loving wife.

I thought that she would be so sweet,

and never quick to scold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

 *

I thought I’d be a lucky man,

I thought I’d know no pain.

I thought my days, would be all sun,

and never have no rain.

I thought I’d be the kind of man,

who would not be, bought or sold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

 *

But, now this thought, occurs to me,

as the years unfold,

the friends you make, throughout your life,

are worth much more than gold.

So never let them get away,

keep them in your fold.

And you won’t be alone, when growing old.

 *

I think it’s not so bad,

this, growing old.

No, I think it’s not so bad,

this, growing old.

It really,

ain’t so bad,

this, growing old.

 ***

 Jack Downing

Oct. 2008

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 10/6/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in history, humor, husbands and wives, life, Life's Journey, old days, ships, song writer, wealth and worth, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

