A Traveler’s Warning

     Don’t ask me where this one came from, I have no idea what-so-ever. But I can picture this on a sign just inside the door of an inn, English or Irish, come immediately to mind, though early America probably had it’s share of these types of places as well..You can vision it now, can’t you?

       Have a safe and sound Saturday all,

Jake.

Aye, lass a tankard of ale and the dice if you please.

A Traveler’s Warning

Take off your hat

and shed your coat

be ye come by carriage

or ye come by boat.

And check your pockets

a’through and a’through

for anything missed,

will be lost then to you.

There is a charge for whiskey

and a charge for bed,

but no charge for a scalawag’s

crack to the head.

Yes, we’re a tolerant lot

but, just up to a point,

so, keep well in mind

who is running this joint.

*** 

Jack Downing

Sep. 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 9/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in beer, history, humor, Irish descent, iron hand, lodges, old days, seafarers, Spirits, tavern and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Traveler’s Warning

  1. I say Irish – or Scottish.. how many poems have you written? Curious…i am

    • Oh, I did a rough count and came up with around 535 counting poems and ponderings, song lyrics, Interjections, Relfections, Recollections and Haiku..Not bad I guess for 3 years..Oh BTW,, yeah, I’m inclined to think you may be right, I didn’t consider the Scottish, how foolish of me, seeing as they have quite a reputation for fondness, with the coin of the realm, themselves. Thanks for your comments and your support..
      Jake,

      • Ever think about publishing them in a book? That;s a lot of poetry – I really enjoy everything you write and you have a wide variety of subjets – one of my favorite was the Ark one… When I was a kid Where the Sidewalk Ends was one of my very favorite books – sometimes I find your poetry reminiscent of it.

        Anywho – always on the support even if I lack in the comment dept sometimes… I read many in my email and then don;t go back and like them – I forget those kinds of things.. so I am behind but not as behind as it looks – I need to catch up in email though too lol….

      • WOW, that is some high praise indeed. Last year my sister-in-law had four copies of my favorite ten poems at the time, published using something called Blurb publishing (Poems & Ponderings, Volume 1 by Jack Downing) and gave a copy to my sister, my daughter and myself.. Hardcover and dust jacket included, the she put in her own photos to go along with them…Except for one omission (a verse) it was very well done and pretty special… Myself though, would not know how to go about it, and other than the one copy that you would buy, I wouldn’t have a clue how to market it..LOL But I really do appreciate your support and loyalty..And yes, my stuff is ecclectic to say the least. If you want it, I’ve got it…Or I’ll write it on request (just give me a Mid-Afternoon Mental Moment to work on it)….Thanks again Lizzie.
        Jake.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Great one! I do not want a crack to the head so I will not frequent this place!!! I am skeered….

Leave a Reply

