Curtly Speaking

     Once in a while I get up on my soap box, okay maybe more often that once in a while, and I try to relate to others what I am thinking at a given time. Usually though, I try to aim my comments at the younger generation on what I think is proper etiquette and the like. But this one is “pointed” at our civilization in general, but mostly it’s still about the young’uns. “So if the shoe fits…Wear it.”  I know I am getting more curmudgeonly in my old, (everything is relative) age, but this one is all about perception. How others see us, how we see others, but more importantly, how we see ourselves..

Please have a thoughtful Thursday,

Jake.

Oh, and please say hello to Walter…

 

Jeff DunhamWalter for President – Video Dailymotion

    

Curtly Speaking

Whatever happened

to peace and quiet?

Was your hair that bad

you felt the need to dye it?

And if you’re a size zero,

there’s no need to diet.

And be proud of your heritage

  don’t ever deny it.

If your skin is black,

yellow, red or pink,

it’s a beautiful color

don’t cover it with ink.

Oh, and about those piercings

that you’re adding on now,

leave the nose rings

for the bull and cow.

And while diamonds on a woman

are where they should be,

on a fellow it’s just ego

screamin’ look at me!

Oh, and please show some respect

for yourself and others,

your teachers, the police

and your fathers and mothers.

You may have been told

that it’s all about you,

but that’s a load of crap,

’cause we live here too!

 ***

 

Jack Downing

Aug. 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 9/27/12

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, bull, cow, Earth and Us, Elders, humor, old days, peace, poet, thoughts, tranaquility and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Curtly Speaking

  1. Sally says:

    So true ..so true…

    • Yeah, I think so, obviously.. Btw I heard from Wayne and you were right, the job training had held him up some..He sends his regards to you and questions about NWB..See you tomorrow?

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

