One Small Thought

     “Okay Jake, lighten up.” I can hear you all saying it, you are, aren’t you? “That was way too intense for us, all your political rantings and ravings of yesterday, give us something more humorous and nonsensical, something that we can let flitter around in our heads for a while, so we don’t have to be so darn serious going into the weekend… Life sucks you know!” Wait was that you or just me? Hmmm.. Well anyway, here is a newbie for you of the “Nonsense” variety.

     Have a frivolous Friday all,

Jake.

HUH?

One Small Thought

 I look inside

this mind of mine

and I worry at what I see.

For there’s nothing there

just one blank stare

looking back at me.

I search around

but nothing’s found

everywhere I look.

But wait, what’s that

beneath my hat

tucked in that one small nook?

Is that a thought?

Oh, maybe not

no, yes, I think it be.

But, it’s rather small

not big, at all

 not worth a penny’s fee.

Will it grow?

I’ll never know

for now it’s off to bed.

Where I will sleep

in slumber deep

and empty out my head!

*** 

 Jack Downing

Sep. 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 9/21/12

   

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
Gallery | This entry was posted in humor, interjections, poet, political, Sleep, thoughts, wishing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Small Thought

  1. The are some very boorish people to whom I’d like to give a piece of my mind but then there would be nothing left.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Very cute!

Leave a Reply

