The Nest

     I don’t know why that I haven’t posted this one before, as it is one of my favorites. As you can see it was written back in April of 2010 when I was just getting started,(and was probably a lot more creative) writing my poems. This one may be interpreted differently by those who take the time to read it. I would like to hear from as many of you, who would care to comment, as to YOUR interpretation. Please enjoy and ponder.

     Wednesday is now upon us and as the Labor Day weekend approaches, I will now inform you that I will be taking a few days off, to get away to the seashore ( York Beach, Maine) for the first, and most likely the last, time this year. So if I am silent for a couple of days, don’t go celebrating… For, as in the words of ‘Arnold’…. “I’ll Be Back!” 

     Have a “wind-it-down” Wednesday,

Jake.

Google Search Result

THE NEST

I have walked upon the mountain,

I have flown on silver wings,

I drank my fill, from the fountain,

and I’ve seen, what tomorrows bring.

And I’ll confess, while in the nest,

I have heard the Cardinals sing.

*

I have strolled along on peaceful shores,

but, I have felt the tempest rise,

I’ve lived amongst the ignorant,

and been banished, by the wise.

And I’ll confess, while in the nest,

I heard more truth, than lies.

*

I have looked out at the morning,

and drove blindly in the night,

I have drifted far, past center.

but, neither left nor right.

And I’ll confess, while in the nest,

‘twas there, I saw the light.

*

I have tasted of the banquet,

yes, I’ve dined with queens and kings,

and when I’ve surveyed, the realms of both,

I have found no magic springs.

And I’ll confess, while in the nest,

I felt not, the viper’s sting.

*

I have travelled with the great ones,

I have wandered far alone,

I have often, wished upon a star,

 once more, I could be home.

For I’ll confess, while in the nest,

‘twas I then, on the throne.

 ***

 Jack Downing

                                                                         Apr. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 8/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, Challenges, Family, history, humor, king, life, old days, poet, ships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

