Hope=Glass Is Half Full

     I have just been issued a challenge by Beth Ann over at It’s Just Life  to write about hope, under the title of; “Hope=Glass Half Full.”  Coincidently, I had recently written a poem titled, “Virtues” and the first verse is,, yeah you guessed it….Hope. So fortunately, no further thought was required on my part, other than to relate an incident, that occurred while my wife and I were going through a time of severe medical issues with her mother. A nurse had said these words to my wife, while she, (my wife) was acting as the medical proxy, and was considering a DNR, (do not resuscitate) “where there is life, there is hope.” And because of that, the DNR was not signed and we were given another two years with her mom. That glass was indeed half-full.

     So here is my response to the challenge:

Hope is just a wish.

But intrinsic in its power

is a prayer that will remain,

until the final hour.

~Jack Downing~

     As a condition of the challenge one must acknowledge the person who issued the challenge by linking to their blog at the beginning of the post, then notify that person in advance of the posting, and then nominate other bloggers to accept the challenge. So, under the conditions of the challenge I have notified Beth Ann, (and as you can see I’ve done the linky thing) of this posting and I hereby throw down the gauntlet to the following bloggers:

1. Running Naked With Scissors

2. Nae’s Nest

3. Cdnpearly’s Blog

     Good luck to all of you, and from what I understand, there is no time commitment to the challenge, but we are all waiting to hear from you!

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/21/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, Family, health care, history, husbands and wives, life, poet, reflections, spiritual, Success and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hope=Glass Is Half Full

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I love it!! I knew you would have a great “hope” post!! Thanks!!!!

  2. Once again, Jake, your words hit close to home. I apologize for getting a little personal here, but… I’ve recently been diagnosed with stage IV breast cancer. I don’t know how long I have, but I’m hoping like crazy that I still have a few good years ahead of me! 🙂 Your little poem is very powerful and I’m going to write it down (if that’s ok) and keep it handy for times when I feel my hope slipping a little. (That’s bound to happen every once in awhile.) But your story means even more to me (I’ve always loved your introductions 😉 ) and I will keep that in my mind as well. 🙂

    • My prayers are with you, and remember,HOPE is a mostpowerful ally. I’m posting the rest of that poem tomorrow it’s called “Virtues” and I “hope” that you find some more comfort in it.. I really have to thank you for the nice things you had to say about my intro’s,though you may be the only one who feels that way. Do you have any idea how far cancer treatment has come in just the last few years? It’s astonishing! Soplease, keep a positive attitude, forthat is so important to the successof the treatments.. Just so you know,I am herewhen and if you needto “talk” to someone.. God Bless you, your friend, Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

