Just An Old Fart Now

     In keeping with yesterday’s post, let’s stay on the topic of aging. I have been told, or at least led to believe, (okay, have experienced) that as people get older, not only do they suffer a diminishing of  mental capacity, physical deterioration is more noticeable to the senior. From the time they awake, until they go back to bed at 7pm, aches and pains, are their daily companions.

     In a bit of a hurry this morning,

Have a great day,

Jake.

  

    

Just An Old Fart Now

 I remember when

I had no fear to jump

 and I didn’t bruise

at the slightest bump

and I wasn’t mistaken

for a lump.

On the couch

or in the bed.

When I could move

without a pain

and I didn’t ache

every time it rained

and it was kind of cool

to be called insane.

 And no thought of old age

in my head.

*

 I thought I’d always

be young and strong

and through this life

I’d cruise along

But I don’t know where

that plan went wrong.

And left this old fart

here instead.

***

 Jack Downing

May 2012

 

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/13/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just An Old Fart Now

  1. Alex Jones says:

    People who use their mental and physical facilities throughout each day will retain them. It is a case of use them or lose them. I add abuse them and you lose them faster.

  2. Sally says:

    I have no idea what you’re talking about !……………………………….

Leave a Reply

