Park Bench Memories

     What in the world has happened to us? Well I don’t know about your world, but as my contemporaries and I continue to walk this planet, one thing seems to be increasingly clear to us, (how ironic that is) that our mental capacities are not what they used to be. We occasionally have what are called “Senior Moments,” you know, brain far burps, cranium cramps, mini-mind getaways and the like. With the exception of “Alzheimer’s Disease,” and other serious conditions of mental health, these side trips to nowhere, are generally harmless and are a source of amusement to us, though maybe not for those around us.(Just wait, your turn is coming) In fact some of these so-called “moments” are actually choreographed and staged, to offer us a convenient excuse reason to say, “oh, I’m sorry, I forgot” or “what did you say, I wasn’t here for a little bit?” This is the story of a gentleman who will enjoy his day in the park, and with a little bit of extra effort, be home before dark.

     Sunday Smiles to you all,

Jake.

Google Search Result

Park Bench Memories

 Sitting on a park bench

the old man reminisced,

on the days and times of yesteryear,

and about the things he missed.

He thought about when he was young

and the world, was his to own.

And he smiled a bit when he got a thought

of the ‘wild oats’ he’d sown.

 *

He pictured friends and family

back to around the age of three.

He remembered their smiles and freckles even,

that he nevermore, would see.

But mostly, he just sat there

and to the passerby, unknown.

While he tried real hard to remember,

how to get back home.

***

 Jack Downing

June 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/12/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Earth and Us, Elders, Gardens, history, humor, lifetime, men, mischievious, old days, Right to remain silent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Park Bench Memories

  1. Sally says:

    Isn’t that the truth!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Not quite there yet but can see it coming around the bend….Gave me a chuckle for sure.

    • I’m always happy to make you happy. Glad you liked it. And then I said to myself, whatwas it I wasglad about? Oh, yeah, I remember now, I think! Anyway have a Specatcular Sunday, Beth Ann.

      ________________________________

  3. yearstricken says:

    My time is fast approaching when I will be sitting there on that park bench. 🙂

  4. Jan Delaney says:

    Very touching, Jack – love that poem.

Leave a Reply

