I Got Sciatica In Attica

      First and foremost, I must offer my full apologies to those of you with even a modicum of taste and decorum, *(consider that a warning) for the following post. Recently I have been involved with some back and forth banter with another **wordpress blogger whom, for the sake of this article shall remain anonymous and I will refer to as, hmm, let’s see, okay how about, Renae? Yeah, alright Renae it is. Well the banter, eventually led to a bit of “double-entendre,” (okay, more than a bit) and then her his (the) inevitable prison reference, and that brings us back to this apology..Sort of.. Anyway the following “song” should be sung without a key, and with hidden notes (though no sharps please) and lots of bars, but mostly, with extreme trepidation..

     Please remember that my introduction to poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. contained a caveat concerning the material to be found here. I did say that you would, most likely, not be enamored with everything that gets posted here, as I tend to tangentize. (Bite me Mr. Webster)  But please don’t hate me for this one..It’s all Renae’s fault..She, or was it he? Ahhhh no, “The Devil Made Me Do It”(Thanks to Flip Wilson‘s character Geraldine for that line) yeah, yeah, the devil made me do it.

Mondays, can’t live without them,

Jake.

*Proceed with caution, and remember, I warned you!!

**Nae’s Nest.worpress.com. But that’s a secret, sshhh.

Google Search Result

I GOT SCIATICA IN ATTICA

 Well, I never had sciatica,

’til I got sent to Attica,

now, I’m very careful,

how I bend.

 *

It first hit me in the shower,

bent me over, half an hour,

and I was getting worried,

’bout the message, that might send.

*

Now I know, that sometimes negatives,

can turn out to be positives,

 and even tragedies, can turn around,

and find a happy end.

*

Oh on my, first night in there,

I cried for hours, with despair,

just thinking of the time,

I’d have to spend.

*

Yeah, I was scared, when I got here,

all alone and full of fear,

but now all, the fellows,

want to be my friend.

*

Yes, everyone’s so nice to me,

one guy said “ hi there”, twice to me,

and another one told me,

he had cash to lend.

*

Now it seems, I’m never alone,

in the dining hall, or on the phone,

someone’s always, right behind me,

in the end.

 *

When I asked my cellmate, why that was,

he said, “don’t worry, it’s just because,

when you are new,

you’re like, a fashion trend”.

 *

 He said, the feeling would go away,

just relax, it’ll be okay”,

and always that on him,

I can depend.

*

But, I’m getting leery now,

he’s always saying “take a bow”

and I think it’s finally starting,

to sink in.

*

Now, I just want to get out of here,

use the front door, not the rear,

sometimes I wish, that I was lonesome,

once again.

*

But, I guess it’s gonna take some time,

I’ll be here ’til I’m sixty-nine,

and a lot of guys,

will come and go, by then.

 *

 The doctor says, it’ll go away,

and I’ll walk straight, again someday,

but, I’ll just have to take it,

until then.

*

No, I never had sciatica,

’til I got sent to Attica,

now I’m very cautious,

just how and where, I bend.

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                          May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, bull, Freedom, history, humor, Make Believe, men, poet, Songs and Dances, torment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

