Get Out, Get Out, Get Out

     Okay, I was told that I was getting a bit doomy and gloomy and that I had better lighten up a little.. All right then, you asked for it. We are going to take another trip into the music vault. This is a song about life, but not the fifties and sixties TV variety, oh no, this would be more in tune with the reality shows of today,(with some overly dramatized effects) and how our lives can disintegrate into a “ball of confusion“. (With thanks to the “Temptations” for that tag line) But in truth it is “kinda” funny. Make up your own tune and have a superlative Saturday.

Jake.

Oh, these guys are real “cut ups”
Google Search Result

   

GET OUT, GET OUT, GET OUT

 The Grim Reaper, he came by today,

I slammed the door, and sent him on his way.

I said “ I got no time for you,

’cause I got, too many, things to do,

so get out, get out, get out.”

*

 Your old dog, was layin’ on my couch,

I looked at him, and he began to crouch,

I said, “ why don’t you get up, and go outside?

And take a look, at my door, from the other side.

Get out, get out, get out.”

*

 Then your brother woke up, and came down stairs,

walkin’ around, like he had no cares.

I said, “look at the clock, its half past nine,

well guess what brother, it’s check out time.

So,get out, get out, get out.”

 *

Then I went around, and I packed your things,

your clothes, and your makeup, and your diamond rings.

Then I went and left them, right in the hall,

now after you leave, don’t bother to call.

Get out, get out, get out.

*

I was feelin’ pretty good, for the rest of the day,

with no one around, to get in my way.

But, boredom set in, about quarter to nine,

when my mind, said there’s hours, til closin’ time.

So get out, get out, get out.

*

So I walked on down, to a local bar,

I was gonna get drunk, I didn’t take my car.

Well I had a few drinks, then I had a few more,

then my money ran out, and they showed me the door.

They said, “get out, get out, get out.”

 *

Well I woke up this mornin’, right around ten,

when, here come the Reaper, a knockin’ again.

 I was feelin’ pretty down, and I needed a friend,

so I looked at him, and I said “come on in”.

Come on in, come on in, come on in.”

*

Oh, yeah, c’mon in, come in, come in.

C’mon in, come in, come in.

Come in, come in friend, come in.”

 ***

 Jack Downing

                                                                          Feb. 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/28/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in dog, Family, ghosts, humor, joy and sorrow, Music, song writer, Songs and Dances, tavern, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Out, Get Out, Get Out

  1. Jackie Paulson says:

    wow, just seeing others poems helps me to keep up mine. Thanks for posting it ♥ Jackie

Leave a Reply

