Zelda’s Well

     What to post, what to post? Did you ever have one of those days? I have them all of the time, so I use the mental dart board approach. That is why some of my material reappears from time to time, (also, my memory ain’t what it used to be) or sometimes I’m just too lazy to research the archives. (Actually that, is the main reason.) Though I do like to tell people that I am not lazy…I’m just a workaholic…In recovery!

     Anyhooo, I am in that same quandary today. What to post, what to post? But today, I am going to forego the dartboard and spin the alphabet wheel and see where it stops. Are you ready? Here we gooooo, (visualize a spinning wheel here, with all 26 letters on it) spinning, spinning, spinning and now slowing, slowing, slowing and STOP.. Hey kids, guess what? Poemsandponderings.wordpress.com, is brought to you today by the letter Z, do you believe it? Z? You have got, to be kidding! Who has a poem beginning with the letter Z? Aaah yup, you guessed it. I do! So for your reading pleasure here is “Zelda’s Well.” A story of ingenuity, entrepreneurship, or just plain greed? You be the judge.

     Please enjoy and express yourselves, don’t be bashful, comments as always, are gratefully appreciated and acknowledged.

Have a frivolous Friday,

Jake.

Well, Well, Well.
Google Search Result

ZELDA’S WELL

 Water as clear,

as air itself,

sprang forth,

from underground.

For as long,

as there’s been memory,

in Zelda’s well,

be found.

*

 Quenching thirsts,

of man and beast,

and to nurture,

flowers grown.

For as long,

as there’s been memory,

the well,

be Zelda’s own.

 *

As cool as a breeze,

on a summer’s eve,

the crystal liquid’s,

always been.

And for as long,

as there’s been memory,

there at Zelda’s well,

be in.

*

 Like nectar,

from the roses,

sipped by,

the thirsty bee.

For as long,

as there’s been memory,

all drank,

and drank for free.

*

 Until the day,

a profit seen,

from the water,

at its core.

Dried the well,

of human kindness,

Zelda’s well,

be free, no more.

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                        Aug. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/20/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Animals, crystal rivers, Earth and Us, Gardens, history, humor, old days, poet, stranger, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zelda’s Well

  1. Hala! With so much thoughts going on, you are torn as to which is which I guess = )

  2. mchogarty@aol.com says:

    Poland Springs, maybe?

  3. that was a ittle zany there at the beginning… I actually pictured the spinning wheel and thinking oh daannnngggg Z man there is no way… yea…dont say a word about that ok? :roll:

    I saw a human kindness once… only for a second then someone put it up for sale..
    sonetimes I wish I were an ant…

    • I wish that I was born and ant to sometimes, instead I was born a son of a bee. Thanks for your comments Lizzie and my lips are sealed about the you know what..lol

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

