Global Warming Mister Gore?

    As you will be able to tell, I wrote this about three years ago, when it had a bit more relevance than it does at the present. Today, with the heatwaves    throughout the U.S., its significance, (the poem’s) may seem little bit hard to fathom, but in 2009, when I originally wrote the piece, we were having a rather below average summer with regards to the temperatures, here in New England. And the topic of “Global Warming” was still fresh in people’s minds.

     I hope you will  find it as humorous as it seemed to be back then.

Jake.

Google Search Result

GLOBAL WARMING MISTER GORE ?

 Please tell me again,

mister Gore,

just what it was you said,

we had in store.

Global warming was it now?

Well my driveway,

needs a plow,

and the calendar, says it’s now,

June twenty-four.

*

 I’ll admit to some exaggeration,

on my part,

but, this morning my car,

was, hard to start.

But, the defroster worked okay,

the ice was thin,

and went away,

without a lot of strain,

upon my heart.

*

 So please won’t you tell me,

what you think,

my swimming pool,

is now, a skating rink,

and though it’s past,

mid June,

I hope it’s coming soon,

’cause if this keeps up,

I’m gonna need, a shrink.

***

Jack Downing

 June 2009

Copyright©Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/18/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blood and gore, environment, history, humor, Make Believe, misery, Seasons, Senate, Why is it?, wishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Global Warming Mister Gore?

  1. Last few women I’ve met were on the frigid side as well.

Leave a Reply

