Recollection #1

     I’m still on vacation….

RECOLLECTION #1

I remember the cold, of Norfolk,

when the changing, of the tides,

funneled the wind, off the Chesapeake,

with a carrier, on both sides.

A thousand plus, feet of misery,

on any given day,

was made a thousand times, more brutal,

by frozen needles, of salty spray.

                                          …………………………………………………………………………..

I recollect,

and I’ll say, for effect,

that one time,

when my daughter, was young,

her diaper, was full,

it, was my duty, to pull,

I rinsed, I washed,

and I wrung.

Then, with diaper anew,

I made the miscue,

I pinched, and said,

dad’s got your bum,

well, she let me know,

when then, she let go,

that apparently, she wasn’t,

quite done.

…..……………………………………………………………

I have worked at a number of jobs

none of which taxed my brain.

I have sold one vacuum cleaner

and drove a taxi in the sun and rain.

I have worked in a shop making car tools

and toiled at the bowling lanes.

I have changed your tires and moved your mail

and all of which gave me pains.

But with that being said, I am grateful

for the friends and the knowledge, I’ve gained.

………………………………………………………………………..

~Jack Downing~

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/5/12

About poemsandponderings

The dog is man's best friend they'll be with you 'til the end and no matter how high the river runs they'll greet you at every bend. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, craft, history, humor, life, old days, rain, sailors, seafarers, ships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recollection #1

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I am sure your daughter loves the one about her!!!!!

    • She knew about itquite awhile back. She just smiled and shook her head, and actually took it a lot better than I anticipated. Afterall she’s a grownup now. lol

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

