Star Births

     I don’t know whether it was because my birthday was approaching at the time or mere coincidence, but this thought passed through my mind. “What if I was born on June 22nd or June 24th, or perhaps just an hour or so different, in either direction, would I have the same personality traits, would I in fact be the same person that I have become, or someone totally different?” If you believe that the stars and their alignments, have an effect on us and our lives,,, then possibly, I could have been a different person altogether….And maybe, just maybe, “I coulda been somebody, I coulda been a contender” as Brando said in “On The Waterfront.”

     But nah, you know, I kinda like who I am and what has resulted from my being born at exactly that date and time. 

     So, I’m not complaining, ’cause,, “I knows what’s I y’am, and I y’am, what’s I y’am”  ~Popeye~

     Have a wonderful Sunday, wherever and whomever you are.

Jake.

Google Search Result

Star Births

Where the stars

are aligned

at the time

of our birth,

thus determines

our disposition

and fate.

But, I can’t help

but wonder,

who or what

I may be,

if I were born

a bit early,

or late.

***

 Jack Downing

June 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/24/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, Earth and Us, humor, life, Life's Journey, lifetime, movies and entertainment, stars above, Success, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Star Births

  1. Sally says:

    Now I know why we were ,talking”Stella”….have a good one Jack

  2. You are best at whimsy.

Leave a Reply

