Good Morning Yesterday

     I get so confused as to whether or not I have published this poem or that, in previous posts, that I may be repeat myself on occasion. It is for that reason I will apologize to those of you who have been with me for a while and may have read a few of these before. This one however, I cannot find evidence of having posted yet. It has an upbeat message for all of us, that life is lived one day at a time, and once yesterday is gone it is just a memory. And so it is now, today, that is of the utmost importance. You cannot change the events of yesterday, nor foresee the events of tomorrow, but we do have some control over the attitude we carry into today.

     Please enjoy it, and carry a positive air about you this Thursday,

Jake.

Google Search Result

Good Morning Yesterday

When you have awakened

in the morning

surviving, through the night

then fair it is for you to say

yesterday turned out alright.

*

 Then turn your thoughts

to the brand new day

not to bring you down in sorrow

and may that, as you said of yesterday

speak the same, upon the morrow.

***

 Jack Downing

Mar. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/14/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in early risers, Earth and Us, history, life, men, old days, peace, poet, Sleep, women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Morning Yesterday

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I made it through one more night!!! :-)

    • You don’t know how glad I am to hear that. But, after tomorrow’s post which was supposed to be today’s post, you may wish to go back to yesterday, which will actually be today.(Here comes that headache again, where did I put my pain reliever?)Prepare yourself Beth Ann, get Aaron on the line, another song is coming your way!

      ________________________________

  2. Wednesday… Thursday… what does it matter. Still good words to hear today. And I’ll read it again tomorrow. I’ll need it. :)

Leave a Reply

