Words To Live By

     Now we have all heard the adages and mottos, that great and/or famous  people throughout history have written and/or passed on to future generations. With Ben Franklin’s, anonymously written, “Poor Richard’s Almanac” as a fine example of such wisdom and witticism. With fine advice as like, “a penny saved is a penny earned,” “early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise,” and “a stitch in time, saves nine.”

     While others are things that our mothers and fathers taught us from their own experiences of life..’If you play with fire, you’ll get burned,’ ‘be true to your teeth, or they’ll be false to you.’ And one of my favorites, (that I should have listened to) ‘don’t sit on those cold cement steps or you will get hemorrhoids.’ Yes pearls of wisdom to be sure, and yet now, as I advance through life I find that I too, have discovered the wisdom of age. I will now pass on to you and the generations to follow a motto to “live” by.

     Enjoy your day, even if it is Monday,

Jake.

Don’t screw it up!

WORDS TO LIVE BY

 Some folks have their mottos,

or words, to live by.

But, I say mine’s better,

and I’ll tell you why.

*

 They have words of wisdom,

on your health, or your cash.

But, my motto is never be,

 first, at the site of the crash!

***

 Jack Downing

Aug. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/11/12                                                                                

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, Elders, help, history, honesty, humor, in my opinion, life, lifetime, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words To Live By

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Good words of advice!!!! Gonna try to live that one to the fullest! 🙂 Happy Monday!

  2. Archana says:

    You always make me ponder, Jake!! And i am not complaining! 🙂

Leave a Reply

