Arlington

     This is a new poem dedicated to those who have lived, served and died for the freedom of people everywhere, not just for those of us who live here in the U.S. Many nations owe their freedom to the men and women buried here, who fought against tyranny and oppression on every continent. Throughout our relatively short history they have gone where they were needed, did what they had to do, but not all came home the same as they went. Many of the “heroes” buried here at Arlington National Cemetary near Washington, D.C. died in battle, some died of complications from battle, while others are here because they earned the right to be here, because they were willing to go into battle should they be called upon.

     It is with honor and humility that I post this today. May God rest their souls, everyone.

     Tomorrow we celebrate a day of remembrance for those we love, and miss. It is also a day to be grateful to the ones who made it possible for us to have our cookouts and parades and parties, the servicemen and women who gave their all for our liberties. Tomorrow the final posting of the Memorial Day series is dedicated to the “Unknown Patriot.” With DNA testing now available, there may never be another, whose family is left to wonder…. 

Jake.

Google Search Result

   

Arlington

 Crosses and stars

perfectly rowed

on manicured fields

so patiently mowed.

***

 Red white and blue

in contrast to green

in every direction

in multitudes, seen.

***

 Yes, crosses and stars

of alabaster white

precisely so, placed

dressed left and dressed right.

***

 Markers to tell

the names and the ranks

of those who have passed

and to whom, we owe thanks.

***

 To those who have served

to keep us all free

they rest now in peace

with God now, they be.

*****

 Jack Downing

May 2012

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/27/12

Google search result

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Americana, Family, Freedom, Freedom's Flame, God, Hallowed Land, history, Liberty, military/veterans, war and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Arlington

  1. I liked this so much I had to reblog :) it

  2. Reblogged this on Eva Santiago and commented:
    We can never forget them…

  3. Cathy Sorter says:

    Jack, I am trying to see if you could possibly give me the honor of using your poem, Arlington, in a book that I am making as a gift for my husband’s retirement from the military. He has lost many friends and we have gone to Arlington and I have pictures of him beside headstones of his fallen brothers. I would like to use your poem just below some of these pictures. It would be a wonderful addition to this book as reading this poem made me think so much of our visit to Arlington! In my opinion there is no more sacred place in the United States and your poem made me feel like I felt as I walked the paved roads of Arlington. I plan to make three copies of the book. One for my husband and one for each of my two daughters as gifts. I really appreciate your consideration and look forward to hearing from you soon.
    Cathy

    • Cathy, it is I, who would be honored to have “Arlington” included in your tribute to your husband..May God bless all who rest there, Please forward my gratitude and congratulations to your husband for his years of faithful service to this nation.
      I have also published a poem called “A Name Upon This Wall” that you might be interested in as well.
      So therefore you have this written consent of the author as is specified in the copyright.. Thank you for your interest, please continue to visit poemsandponderings.
      Jack Downing.(aka Jake)

Leave a Reply

