The Calling Of The Pipes

     This poem is from the “early days” of my writing, it is one of true feeling, for I am drawn, to the sound of the bagpipes, and the fife and drum. It may be that I was born and raised in Massachusetts, the “birthplace of liberty.” And that the history of this country is so close at hand. Or perhaps, there is another compelling reason for the goosebumps that I get from the “pipes” and from “Taps” by the bugler at a memorial service. It may just be a sense of gratitude to those who sacrificed so much, that we may live in freedom and enjoy all of its blessings.

     I do hope you will like it,

Jake.

THE CALLING OF THE PIPES

Perhaps my life, was of another time,

for I feel the fife and drum,

and the pipes, they call me still,

as once, they may have done.

*

My spirit yearns, to muster,

upon, the village green,

and with my shot and musket,

I stand there, tall and lean.

*

With powder dry, and mouth as well,

I await, the village bell,

to warn us all, the coming,

of the wrath of hell.

 *

     But, then the bugler’s, Taps refrain,

brings me here, to now,

but Amazing Grace, on bagpipes played,

takes me back again, somehow.

*

And as I travel, back and forth,

if only in my mind,

I wonder often, to myself,

if I could, what would I find?

*

Would I be, the brave young hero,

marching to the fore,

or would I be, the cautious man,

and shy away from war?

*

  I will never have the answer,

the question left in air,

yet, the pipes, still call to me,

as if to draw me there.

***

 Jack Downing

 June 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/22/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Americana, Freedom, history, land of the free, Liberty, men, military/veterans, old days, women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Calling Of The Pipes

  1. soumyav says:

    very beautiful! thoughts of imagination and dreams touched with yearning..

    • Thank you very much. TAPS is a very solemn tune, and when played at a memorial service, it brings on a feeling ofsadness and loss, andthe bagpipes echo a calling through the stillness ofthe time, that justchills me. Thank you for your comment, please feel free to add your thoughts anytime.

      ________________________________

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Inspiring as always. You make me want to be a poet…..Thanks, Jake!

    • Beth Ann anyone can be a poet, you especially, havea gift for telling a story. “Let it flow, let it flow, let it flow..” “Oh the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful….” Sorry that tangent came throughmy “station” and I had to go off..lol

      ________________________________

  3. Jan Delaney says:

    Beautiful sentiment in that “pipe” verse…

Leave a Reply

