Sarah’s Request

      I have posted this poem previously as well, and as suggested by the title it was written on request. Sarah, a co-worker and long-time supporter of my hobby, had read a poem of mine about friendship, I believe, and she asked me if I had anything regarding a dear friend who had passed away. No, I said, but about twenty minutes later, I had this. I hope that it does justice to the memory of her friend and to any friendship that is suffered by the ones left behind to remember.

     Please think of a friend this Friday,

Jake.

Google Search Result

SARAH’S REQUEST

 Joy and sorrow blend,

in memory, without end,

and for a moment brief,

the time suspends.

And I see your face, as clear,

as any, standing near.

And I miss you,

more than ever,

then, my friend.

***

Jack Downing

Sept. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/18/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, history, innocent deaths, life, Loss of a friend, men, mourning, poet, spiritual, truth, women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sarah’s Request

  1. Sally says:

    As always…Jack…Thankyou again…..

  2. Joy and sorrow blend, Unfortunately this is the way of the world, that yin/yang thing. Well I don’t like it one bit.

  3. Exquisitely stunning😊

    • Why thank you. I have often said (maybe too often) that the very best work of the songwriter and the poet usually requires the least of it. And that was true of this poem. Thank you so much again for your comments and your subscription, I hope you enjoy the experience.
      Jake.

Leave a Reply

