A Collection of Original Thoughts

     Good Sunday morning to you all. I thought that today I would offer you a few tidbits, of original sin thoughts  for your reading enjoyment and reflection. If any of your morning beverage happens to come out through your nose, then I have been successful in my quest to make everyone’s wardrobe look like mine…And clean out your sinus’!

     Though it’s really a sinister plot, at self-promoting my new business enterprise.. 

      Coming soon to a location near you.. “Doctor Downing’s Nasal Cleaners and Laundromat“. “We put in the fluff and get out the snuff” is our motto..

     Please just a reminder, No Bibs.(Unless you are under four or over sixty years of age.)

     Have yourselves, a non-serious Sunday. That’s my plan anyway.

Jake.

A Collection of Original Thoughts

The smart dog, doesn’t bite the stranger,

it gets to know them first.

……………………………………………………………………….

You can lead a horse to water,

but you cannot make it drink.

You can feed your thoughts to a dumb ass,

but you cannot make it think.

…………………………………………………………………..

I’m not a complete idiot,

I’m still a work in progress.

………………………………………………………………………

The apple, it falls,

not far from the tree,

and to this I would offer, one but.

But, if that is true,

then wouldn’t say you,

the same may be said,

of the nut?

  ………………………………………………………………………

Do not waste the time today,

with regret and sorrow,

for all your yesterday’s mistakes.

You may need more time tomorrow.

……………………………………………………………………..

Anorexia, Nervosa:

Waist not, want not.

………………………………………………………………………

The more words that leave your mouth,

the more room that leaves for your foot.

…………………………………………………………………………..

You will never be held to blame,

for something that’s done wrong,

if it’s nothing that you do,

and you do it all day long.

…………………………………………………………………..

Honesty is the best policy.

But try to find an agent. 

………………………………………………………………….. 

The dog without fleas,

is an imposter.

…………………………………………………………………..

~Jack Downing~

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, dog, humor, idea, in my opinion, interjections, life, stranger, Sunday, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Collection of Original Thoughts

  1. OK, I’m cracking up laughing here and I haven’t even finished reading all the thoughts. I got as far as the second one (the dumb ass) and had to stop. We have company – they are sleeping in the same room I’m writing in – and I don’t want to wake them up with my laughing so I didn’t dare continue. I’ll be back to finish reading in the a.m. (with my morning beverage in front of me) and maybe even share some of the laughs with my company. You are too funny!

  2. yearstricken says:

    I especially like: The more words that leave your mouth, the more room that leaves for your foot.
    Now I see what I’m doing wrong. 🙂

  3. A penny saved is a penny wasted due to inflation. I hear Canada is eliminating the penny.

  4. I really enjoyed this!

  5. Abhishek says:

    “The dog without fleas, / is an imposter.” My first thought was -“Arn’t we all…?” Then it struck me that beyond the obvious humor, the post has much food for thought… Great poems here, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

