A Crooked Trail

     A new poem for your reading pleasure, or maybe not.

      As I am on a short break from my “paying job”,  I will keep this intro brief, (hey, that applause was totally uncalled for) and let you decide on the merits of the poem for yourselves. I am curious to hear your comments.

     Have a ” folly free” Friday,

Jake.

A Crooked Trail

 I have sailed

a sinking ship,

upon a crooked course.

I have rode

a crooked trail,

upon a rocking horse.

I have straddled

the straight and narrow,

never finding end or source.

But, I pray to God

that when I do,

I’ll do so, without force.

*

 I have walked

a rugged road,

on the uphill side and down.

I have run

from life and love,

not knowing where I’m bound.

I have learned

the greatest pains,

are borne without a sound.

But, I have felt

the grace of God

in all of those surrounds.

*

 Yet, I have not seen

the last of days,

my journey is not end.

So on this crooked

trail I go,

on to the nearing bend.

Until the day

I travel not,

and my road, must I defend.

  I’ll take the crooked trail

and on His mercy,

then depend.

***

 Jack Downing

Apr. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/13/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Animals, craft, God, humor, life, oceans, seafarers, ships, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Crooked Trail

  1. Beth Ann says:

    At first I thought the title was The Crooked Tail…….I think the crooked trail is a good way to go and the path that I seem to choose rather than the straight. Maybe I will see you on it!!! Happy Friday!!!

  2. Screw it. Take a limo.

Leave a Reply

