It’s In The Mail

      As my day job, currently, (but only until I start making money off of my poetry/songwriting) is at a(n?) United States Postal Service mail processing facility, I have ample opportunity to see, mail trucks. Surprise!! However, when this poem came to mind, it involved the more commonplace ‘Letter Carrier‘ vehicle making its stops along the main roads and byways, delivering those daily communications, that we all look forward to receiving, (except for those dam*ed bills) and I wondered.. What’s inside for that house and those people? And that is how this poem was started.

    

    

Jake.

IT’S IN THE MAIL

 When I see a mail truck,

I often wonder, what’s within,

a letter from a loved one,

or, to the next of kin?

*

 And what reaction will it cause,

maybe joy, or maybe sorrow?

Perhaps a bill, will be inside,

for payment, on what’s been borrowed.

*

 Or, could it be a package,

with something, seen only on TV,

the handling, and the shipping of,

costs more, than what it be?

*

 But it may be, a letter,

from a soldier, or sailor far away,

sending love, and wishes,

for a fine, and peaceful day.

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                          July 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/9/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in history, humor, in my opinion, journey, military/veterans, poet, sailors, song writer, thoughts, truth, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s In The Mail

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I love getting letters!!! During Lent I wrote a letter a day and it was my way of helping you keep your job. 🙂 There is just nothing quite like a handwritten letter from someone you have not heard from for a long time to make me smile. Emails and texts are great but there is just something about the actual letter in the mail that cannot be duplicated!!!

    • It’s the personal touch, I think. Something tangible that we can hold in our hand. As well as a service to the language and a connection to the past. As far as my job is concerned, I have almost thirty years of service, so I won’t lose my job, I’ll just be relocated, tothe Boston plant,if necessary. But there are many, many people, junior to me,along withtheir families, whowill be effected much moreso,than I am. So on their behalf, and mine,thanks for writing those Lental letters.. Jake.

      ________________________________

  2. rainang says:

    the poem was rather nice, gave me the warm and fuzzies. so do letters…

    • Thank you Rainang. Writing letters is somewhat of a lost art. Maybe we should start a letter writing campaign. Write a letter to a friend or loved one and ask that they do the same, and ask them to send one to someone else, while giving credit to the person who started it (in this case you) and the person that they recieved it from, and see where it goes. I think I might start one myself..Have a great day and thanks again.
      Jake.

      • rainang says:

        Yes, a friend and I recently decided we were going to write letters to each other instead of relying on facebook and emails, and we realised that letters had so much more depth, and there was so much more emotion we could communicate and express to each other. Was nice.

        Have a great day too!
        Raina

  3. I know I have become an old cornball when the event of the day is when the mailman comes. I don’t know why. Half pound of junk, some charitable solicitation with address labels wherein my name is spelled wrong and a bill or two.

Leave a Reply

