Rain On The Glass

     Have you ever sat inside a car/truck/vehicle on a day, or night, of misty drizzle?  Whoa, doesn’t that sound like the name of a stripper?… I can almost hear it now, (or what I think, it may sound like, as I have had no personal experience,,,recently) “Gentlemen, now appearing at center stage, for your viewing pleasure, please give a warm welcome to the incomparable talents of the lovely, Miss Misty Drizzle“!!! But, back to the point. I have had that experience, (the rainy, misty night thing) and on many of those  occasions, I’ve had the opportunity to gaze at nothing but the windshield, (have I ever mentioned my short career as a cab-driver?) and with not much else to look at, especially at night, and in the rain,  just watch the misty drops coagulate, and then with the gradual increase of mass and weight, they soon become united in purpose, and flow as one, off into the darkness, and on, into oblivion, if they’re lucky..Hey, I know what you’re thinking! “What the Hell, is he talking about?” Yeah, me too! But, I guess what I’m talking about, is imagination, and keeping your mind busy, even during the most boring of times. Here is an example of that premise.. I hope you like it.

     I’m hoping for all of you, a thoroughly thatisfying Thursday. (Running out of ‘th’ adjectives, so I’m improvising)

Jake.

    

RAIN ON THE GLASS

Rivulets run along the glass,

as the rain falls even paced,

not torrent, nor the droplet,

just lightly, leaving trace.

I watch them form, then slide away,

beneath the amber lamp.

Safe inside the wheeled cocoon,

shielded from the damp.

Reflecting back like heaven’s stars,

upon a warm clear night,

until amassed amongst themselves,

then slide down out of sight.

And in the closest span of time,

it formed and had not stayed,

the fleetly flowing rivulet,

had escaped the wiper’s blade.

***

Jack Downing

Oct. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/5/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in crystal rivers, environment, humor, men, mischievious, movies and entertainment, old days, Songs and Dances, Sports, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rain On The Glass

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Beautiful words and image (actual and in my imagination), Jake!

    • Thanks Denise, I will assume you’re referring to the poem, and not tothe “stripper part of the intro”!!!!

      Either way, thanks for the vote of confidence.. I hope this e-mail finds you well.

      ________________________________

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Misty Drizzle??? She runs a close second to the fire dancer we encountered in the Bahamas by the name of Sizzle….Chris got a little burned….

    • Was Sizzle too hot to handle??? Oh, I couldn’t help myself with the Misty Drizzle thing it just “dropped” out of nowhere, andseemed to “flow”through my fingers to the keyboard… As always thanks for your continued support, and hopes that you and your family are well.. Btw, how’s Carlton doing? We haven’t heard much about him lately. ________________________________

      • Beth Ann says:

        Going to see him next weekend so I will “report” back. He was supposed to start work this month but I don’t think that has eventuated yet. He seems to be doing fairly well—a lot of adapting on everyone’s parts but my sister in law is awesome and has always been his best buddy so it is good he is with her. Thanks for asking. And yes—Sizzle was too hot to handle. Ask Chris. He had up close personal experience but he still came back to me! 🙂

      • Then I’d say you must bea “hottie” too…lol Glad to hear Carlton is adapting. Change can be difficult sometimes..It’s goodto have family around who care..

        ________________________________

  3. Sometimes the nicest poems can come from such simple things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

