I Am A Country Song, Writer. Dadgummit.

     I have my doubters and naysayers who pooh-pooh, my ability to write country songs. (Y’all know who’s ya’ are) But, I am about to do an, “Inyer Face” to them, right here-‘n-now. Yep, the following is a preview of my latest triumph, which I am sure, will shortly be climbing the “Country Music” charts, at an alarming rate..So without further ado, I give to you, a short preview….of;

Six-pack Up and Go

When I met you in that bar,

about a week ago,

and you said that I,

was the kind of guy,

that you’d, like to get to know,

 I grabbed a half-a-dozen “Lone Stars,”

in a paper bag, to go.

Oh, you looked so fine,

and it was closin’ time,

and time to,

six-pack up and go.

*

Now, tell me that’s not a toe-tapper right there. Hmm, Waylon maybe? Ah,Hank Jr.? Well one of them good ol’ boys. Goin’ numero uno for sure-o.. 

(to be discontinued)

Jack Downing

Apr. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/3/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, beer, humor, Music, song writer, Songs and Dances, tavern, Texas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Am A Country Song, Writer. Dadgummit.

  1. Waylon–maybe not (Waylon was really funny, but he didn’t let it show as much in his music like his pal Johnny Cash.) Hank Jr. or Toby Keith, however, yes–much more in line with their senses of humor. Start pitching your demo in the morning.

  2. horiwood says:

    Party on.
    In New Zealand a ukelele is also a country guitar, kinda.

    Take a listen:

    http://horiwood.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/saxophone-ukelele-of-new-zealand-ardijahs-watchin-u/

    Loved your post.

  3. Long ago it was my avocation to fall in love with the barmaids in those honky tonk bars. One became my first wife and it was pretty good while it lasted. “Come Live With Me” was a hit song at that time. And did have my share of closing time one night stands. When someone says “I relate” to a poem this one was me.

    • Eeeeeeeeeeeee, haaaaaaaaaaaaaa, Carl you Devil Dog you..I can visualize you doing that line-dancing thing to impress the ladies. “I’m a Honky-Tonk man, and I can’t seem to stop…I love to give the girls a-whirl to the music of an old jukebox…..” Now there’s a good old song from the good old days..

      ________________________________

  4. A rapper AND a country star… WOW! 🙂

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Oh when will it end??? The talent. The unending talent. The awards will begin to flood in and you will have to move you and your lovely bride to new dwellings just to accomodate all of the awards that the CMA will be heaping on you. I can loan you my crown when you need it….

Leave a Reply

