By Way of Hell

      I remember my late father-in-law ‘Buster’ suffering from the effects of the insidious disease diabetes, and the resulting complications. To be  followed by  amputations,  first one foot, and then the rest of the leg to the knee. Then the other foot, and then the rest of that leg. Piece by piece, he was chopped apart, and spent months in rehab to learn how to maneuver under those conditions. First, with crutches for the initial prosthesis,(the foot) then the second prosthesis. Then came the next round of amputations that, in the end, left him wheelchair bound, and of course, more rehab. (He was one of the bravest men I have ever known.) With his eyesight failing, and his nerve endings so tender to the touch, he literally, begged for God to take him, and to put an end to his suffering. He finally, and mercifully, succumbed to a heart attack, and is now at peace.

     So, it is to him and to all of the long-suffering faithful, that this poem is dedicated…God Bless you all.

     Please say a prayer for the sick today,

Jake.  

By Way of Hell

 You wake up in the morning,

sorry to be alive,

for the pain you bear,

will be with you,

for as long, as you survive.

Nevermore, will come a single day,

when you’ll say, “I’m feeling well.”

Oh yes, you’ve earned your place in Heaven,

but, you’re going,

by way of Hell!

 *

You beg your God, to spare you,

from another day of pain,

and to bring you Home,

in mercy,

before, you go insane.

To take away, this earthly suffering,

and then in, His kingdom dwell.

Oh yes, you’ve earned your place in Heaven,

but, you’re going,

by way of Hell!

***

Jack Downing

Mar. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/30/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, God, health care, Kingdom, life, lifetime, men, peace, torment, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to By Way of Hell

  1. jpotblogg says:

    Sad is the poem which I have read and though I do not like to get my emotions tangled in between, it is already pouring into me.. 😦
    But great poem! 🙂

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Chris and I have talked so often about how we just hope we die quickly and don’t have to suffer like so many of our loved ones. But alas, it is not up to us, is it? If I suffer I pray I can do it gracefully. But who knows—–we really do not have the choice and all we can do is trust, right?

    • It is so hard to suffer gracefully when you are wracked with pain…It is almost as hard on the ones who have to stand by helplessly and witness the agony and torment (physical and mental) that they are going through.. I wrote one of those blessing things that said, ‘may you live only as long as you want to…..and not one minute more..I”ll have to look it up..God Bless us all, that we don’t have to experience what my father-in-law went through.

      • Beth Ann says:

        I agree. Watching my father struggle with Parkinson’s and not being able to get his thoughts out, watching my father in law as his body finally gave out on him even tho the doctors kept trying yet other treatments….it was horrible and not the way I would choose if I could choose. I just hope I can have grace when it is my time.

  3. What a powerful message you deliver here. It is packed with that VOICE society loves to ignore. The voice of the terminally ill. Oh how I wished we could listen to their voice, and grant their every wish. They do as you say earn their place in Heaven, but get there by way of Hell.
    Wonderful writing.

    • Thank you so much for your comment.. Other than watching what my father-in-law went through, I have seen how the “medical profession” treats the elderly when they are seriously ill, and it is depressing to say the least.. And sadly it is going to get a hundred times worse if Obama Care becomes law here in the U.S. The “scrap heap” is where the elderly, sick or otherwise, will be tossed..
      I’m apologize for the diatribe, and again, thanks for reading and expressing yourself. Please come again.

Leave a Reply

