A Sail To Paradise

      There is no reason for a long introduction to this poem. When you’ve read it, I think you will know what it is all about..

     Please enjoy the trip everyone,

Jake.

A SAIL TO PARADISE

 I would like,

to build a boat,

I’d pray to God,

that it would float.

Then sail away,

to isle remote,

where, warm breezes blow.

~~~~

 Where the ocean turns,

to turquoise blue,

with houses colored,

in pastel hues.

And rain arrives,

as if on cue.

But, makes way, for the stars to glow.

~~~~

 Where the sand,

is fine and white,

and music entwines,

both day and night.

And smiles real,

a most common sight.

That’s, where I’d like to go.

~~~~

 But, alas,

I have no craft,

and barely know,

the fore, from aft.

To dream this dream,

I must be daft.

If only, wishing could make it so.

~~~~

 Then I’d set sail,

on the morning tide,

and no delay,

I would abide.

The sun and stars,

to be my guide.

Then paradise, I would know.

***

                                                                       Jack Downing

Dec. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/28/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in craft, early risers, Freedom, God, Music, oceans, seafarers, stars above, tranaquility, wishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Sail To Paradise

  1. Beth Ann says:

    i wanna go! I wanna go!!! Though I have little knowledge of boating either so we could be up a creek without a paddle ……

  2. garden.poet says:

    A lovely trip. thank you.

  3. At least something good came of your doldrums. A nice poem. Sail on!

Leave a Reply

