The Golden Age Of Rap

     So, you think I’m just a silly old poet, do ya? Well, as some of you know, I am also an aspiring lyricist, as you will witness below. In fact that’s how I got started, yeah, music is in my blood. Though it’s not in my vocal chords or fingers or any other part of me that could possibly sing, hum, whistle, or play any instrument. Therefore the only thing I have left, is the words. Word-up, on that brothah..

     The following was my first venture into the world of RAP music (rhythm and Poetry) and I know, that at least one of you, (you know who you are) is heavily into RAP, and may like to partner-up on this and make a boat-load of money... Please remember while you are reading it, to mentally add the incessant “Badoom, boom, boom, badoom, boom, boom” that is inherent in any “good” RAP song. It is written from the perspective of a senior citizen rapper. (Yeah, if they’re not shot or overdose on something, they will get old) And this is what they may say when those days arrive…I’m tellin’ ya’s, there’s money to be made on this…Interested investors may contact me, Jake, @ poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. Serious inquiries only please. So now, without further ado, (remember, badoom, boom, boom, badoom, boom, boom, heretofore known as bd,b,b,bd,b,b) I give you:

THE GOLDEN AGE OF RAP

~(bd,b,b,bd,b,b)~

 Now, when you get old,

and your hair, turns grey,

and you start, to reflect,

on your younger day,

you’ll think about all,

the things you did.

When you were a bright-eyed,

bushy-haired kid.

~(bd,b,b,bd,b,b)~

 Then you’ll wonder, what happened,

and when it occurred,

how your life, flew by,

just like, a bird.

Now you wake up, in the morning,

and your body, just aches,

and you know, that it’s time,

for a bowl of bran flakes.

~(bd,b,b,bd,b,b)~

 So, remember these things,

when you get up,

you gotta, take your dentures,

from, out of the cup.

And you gotta, take your pills,

so you, will feel better,

and even, if it’s summer,

you’ll be wearing, a sweater.

~(bd,b,b,bd,b,b)~

Now, if your income’s fixed,

how come, you’re broke,

isn’t that, some sort,

of very cruel joke?

You worked, all your life,

so, you could retire,

but, you gotta, race to do it,

before you expire.

~(bd,b,b,bd,b,b)~

 Then they say, you’re too old,

to drive, your car,

’cause you drove it,

 through the window, of a local bar.

And now, it’s your wife’s knees,

that’s holding, up her breasts,

and you’re both, making plans,

for your final rest.

~(bd,b,b,bd,b,b)~

 So, remember these words,

you’re about to hear,

these, are the times,

they call, the “golden years”.

Well, you know, they’re not gold,

they’re not even brass,

and now, you know why I’m grumpy.

So, kiss, my, ass.

$$$

 Jack Downing

                                                                          Feb. 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/21/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, health care, humor, husbands and wives, life, Music, old days, poet, song writer, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Golden Age Of Rap

  1. If you want to make it in this genre you have to use MFer and B_ _ _ _ 300 times in a rap.

  2. You are not right in the head, Jamocha! I hope you had your huge gold chain with the dollar sign hanging off it on along with your saggy low riding pants when you penned this gem. I have this image in my head and it is making me laugh! Good work on this one and good luck! I will lend you my crown when you are rich and famous!

    • We all know you have so many crowns, you won’t miss just one…Oh, and speaking of those low-riders, I’d be afraid they’d fall down and so would I, trying to bend over to pull them up…And that would hurt..Oh, I can feel it now. Thank you by the way, for your observation about my mental state though..You are a truly perceptive woman.
      Your demented friend,
      Jamocha.

  3. sheilabmarie says:

    I honestly have to say that this has…..potential. Did i just say that? Lol. Its actually quite good from your straight on spproach of the golden years.
    You gots’ style!

  4. Impressive! You are a man of many talents! (I almost fell out of my chair from laughing so hard – and that was even before I got to the RAP) 🙂

    • Oh, you are way too generous with your praise.. I wrote something once, to the effect of; ‘Be generous with your praise, but not to the point of being suspicious’ lol But,thank youso much for your, more thanwelcomed participation, in whateverit is I’m doing here. Have a superior day, Ariadne. Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

