Reflections (page five)

     After the past two days of a long poem of a dire and tragic nature, here as promised, is something a little bit lighter…

     Enjoy a social Sunday, everyone.

Jake.

REFLECTIONS

(page five)

I will not carry hate,

within my heart.

For the weight of which,

can only serve,

to tear apart.

……………………………………………………………………………………..

 Give a man a fish,

and you feed him for today.

But, teach a man to fish,

and, his wife will hate you,

until, your dying day.

……………………………………………………………………………………

 Do you know,

what bothers me?

It’s folks that used to,

be like me.

¤

But, now they’ve changed,

and so should I.

For my own good,

seen, through their eyes.

…………………………………………………………………………………

 I do not envy,

the rich man,

his money.

¤

 Or the style,

in which,

he may live.

¤

 But, I’m jealous,

of how,

he can keep it.

¤

 And to the taxman,

he have,

not to give.

–¤–

Jack Downing

copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/18/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in humor, husbands and wives, men, old days, reflections, truth, U.S. Government, wealth and worth, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reflections (page five)

  1. I love that poem, jake! Very timely for the lent season. Thanks for posting!

    • Ha, Aina, I had to look at the post again to see which one of themwould be appropriate for Lent..Ah, the first one of course, I didn’tfigure it was the one about fishing, or the taxman and certainly not the preaching of the know-it-all, do gooders…..lol.. Thanks for your comments I always look forward to reading them…Have a super,special Sunday..

      ________________________________

  2. These are great! I really laughed at the fish one. 🙂

    • Ariadne, that was inspired by my son-in-law, and my daughter… He loves to go off and fish for the day,(especially with his brother) while she is leftto do her own thing… A bone of contention sometimes…

      ________________________________

  3. Malou says:

    Great poems, Jake. I love the one about the “fish” which had me giggling. I love fish so I won’t hate the man who will teach the Mr. how to fish. 😉

Leave a Reply

