A Mother’s Gift

     Ask any Irishman about his dear departed mother, and to the last, they will be calling on the Almighty Himself  for her   beatification. Every mother’s son will swear, that without a sliver of doubt, that his “mum” is surely polishing her halo in heaven as they speak, saints they be, every one…But mine,,, truly is..

     I swear every word of the following poem to be true, and not just to me but for my entire family as well. The “teachings” of life and love and family, that she passed on to us, have lasted beyond her own lifetime, and continue well into ours. So with Saint Patrick’s Day on the near horizon, I offer this poem in honor of Saint Marie..

     Please enjoy it and then thank your mother (anyway you can) for all that she has given to YOU! 

Google search result Irish Mother Blessing

A Mother’s Gift

You filled a space,

no other could,

you taught me always,

think the good,

of those I meet,

along the way,

and sunrise brings,

a whole new day.

Dwell not upon,

a hurt or slight,

and let the heart decided,

the wrong or right,

of what I do,

or what is done,

then let it go,

with the setting sun.

But, of all the lessons,

I have learned,

there’s, but one upon,

my soul’s been burned,

there is no stronger,

force on earth,

nor gift, of any,

greater worth.

Than a mother’s love,

that’s given free,

to each of us,

for eternity,

and wavers not,

in life or death,

it never takes,

a final breath.

Jack Downing

May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/15/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blessings, demise, Family, God, humor, Irish descent, men, old days, Spirits, spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Mother’s Gift

  1. Nae's Nest says:

    Reblogged this on Nae's Nest and commented:
    Very nice poem. I plan on sending a copy to my mom. She’s had such a hard time with my illness. This will touch her deeply. Thank you Jake of poemsandponderings.worpress.com

  2. Love it!!! Funny that you call your mom Saint Marie!!! Love it. We call our mom Mother Superior. And no—we are not Catholic but it has stuck for quite a few years……

  3. Jan says:

    So true about Marie. And I’ll take it for my Mother too. Thanks for the good memories.

    • It’s the Irish in us Jan…Your mom was terrific, I can picture her in the kitchen on Bare Hill Rd. and your dad too, being one of the guys..Great family, great fun..Thank you, for the memories.

      ________________________________

  4. Malou says:

    What a very lovely poem that touches the soul! 😉

    • Thank you very much malou, she was indeed a special person, and we (my sister and brothers) were blessed to have had her for a mother…My dad was pretty special too, he loved her so much..The two of them did an amazing job, in spite of my behavior…lol

  5. theuglymoose says:

    Very appropriate for Mother’s Day. Enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply

