Sean Michael McGee And The Papalcy

     This was my St. Patrick’s Day post of last year, and as the day again approaches, I believe it’s time to put my “Irish” on, so for the next few days I may throw some bits of it at you here and there. Some of the poems will be short and some, quite long, with this one being one of the longer ones. But, I hope you will read it and enjoy it, with the humor that was intended. However, in order to accurately “feel” the poem, you MUST read it while using your very best “Irish Brogue.”

     Many of you were not here last year, so you will not have seen this one yet, but for those who were, my apologies, and my sincerest thanks for hanging in there with me. The St. Patrick’s Day post this year is another “epic” poem that may take a little time to read, and there is no humor whatsoever, involved in “The Life And Death Of Connor Finnegan.” It tells of the “Troubles” of the Irish, and their desire to be a united Ireland free from British rule. But, for now, it’s time to lighten up a bit… So, with your best (no cheap substitutes here) brogue, please enjoy the poem. I’ve included an Irish friendship wish for you all, and thank you,  for participating.

Your friend,

Jake.

Google search result

SEAN MICHAEL McGEE AND THE PAPALCY

 The letter was received,

at the Vatican,

on seventeen, March,

in two thousand and ten.

Addressed to the Pontiff,

and spotted, with tears,

oh, Holy Father,

I be a man of some years.

So, I have given long thought,

on the subject at hand,

would you answer for me,

what I don’t understand?

 Why is it the day,

that the Irish hold dear,

come in mid March,

at that time of year?

 Yes, the time of the year,

when we’re asked to repent,

smack dab in the middle,

in the season, of Lent.

 How cruel is the church,

that would tempt, a man so,

then ask for behavior,

no Irishman knows?

 Refrain, and be temperate,

for the sake of your soul,

we’d rather you asked us,

to tread, on hot coals.

 So, it is with regret,

and it is, with great sorrow,

for this here, one Irishman,

Lent will start, on the morrow.

 But, in closing I’ll ask,

your forgiveness, and wait,

for your Holy opinion,

on changing the date.

 Maybe June, or October,

the choice, your’s it shall be.

 Sincerely, your servant,

Sean Michael McGee.

 Oh, and a p.s. I’ll add,

and a prayer, I will ask,

for a bit of the good luck,

as I’m off to the track.

 Again, and sincerely,

Sean Michael Mc Gee.

♣♣♣

Jack Downing

                                                                          Mar. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/8/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in beer, epics, Freedom, history, honesty, humor, Irish descent, Liberty, misery, religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sean Michael McGee And The Papalcy

Leave a Reply

