If Jesus Had A Brother

     Please excuse me if this poem sounds or seems somewhat sacrilegious, it was not intended to be so..It is just another example of what goes on in this head of mine, when I start thinking..Rare as that may be…The beginnings are the easy part, (just a word or a phrase as I have said, ad nauseam) but the body and ending of the poem, take a bit more thought (or lack thereof).. ‘Just make it rhyme dummy’…  It is sort of like going on a road trip in a vehicle, but having no idea as to where you are going or how to get there, and for that matter, why you are going in the first place.. I wish there was AAA for bloggers. “Yes, hello, I am in need of a trip ticket.” (pause) “Huh?  Oh,,  no, I don’t know where I want to go on this one!” (pause) ” But duh!! — That is why I called you.” …(Click)… “Hello, hello, did you just hang-up on me? I’m paying your salary you know!! Get back here!! Do you know who I am??”

     Anyway, please do not take the poem or the poet too seriously on this one..

      I am hoping for a thrilling Thursday, tell your friends if you like it.. but, please be quiet if you don’t..

Jake.

The late great John Belushi as Bluto in National Lampoon's "Animal House" via Google search

If Jesus Had A Brother

 Jesus was an only child,

with demeanor, meek and mild.

But, what if his mother,

had delivered a brother,

whose demeanor was not meek,

but wild?

*

 For no human could possibly measure,

to the Father’s, most sacred treasure.

What if he had rebelled,

would that damn him to hell,

or free him, to sin, at his leisure?

***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/23/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, children, college, God, humor, Middle East, movies and entertainment, poet, religion, traveler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If Jesus Had A Brother

  1. Good question!!!! I am not sure what the answer would be!!! I will ponder that today and get back with you later!!! 🙂

  2. The Gospels indicate that He did have brothers and sisters.

  3. You couldn’t have found a better picture to go with this!

Leave a Reply

