Wishing My Life Away

     Another Sunday morning, and the reverend Jake sends us his best regards, but regrets that he will not be able to join us at service this morning.. He is on a sacramental wine tasting in Sacramento, as part of his, (as he calls it) “sacred duty” thereby “sacrificing” his weekend for the good of us all. Sainthood must surely be in his heavenly future..But as for me, I’m just crossing my fingers and,,, well you saw the title…

     Please have a safe and simply superior Sunday,

 Jake.

 

Wishing My Life Away

 My wish

is to live

for as long

as I give

a damn

about life

after all.

*

 And not one

minute past

after breathing

my last

to be heeding

a heavenly

call.

***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/19/12

     

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, humor, life, Promise Land, religion, salvation, soul, spiritual, Sunday, wishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wishing My Life Away

  1. Michael says:

    Have a beautiful Sunday and another great week ahead. Regards. !!!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Great Sunday words, Right Reverend!!! 🙂 And wine tasting?? Awesome!!! Hope it all is fabulous!

  3. Please send my warmest regards to Reverend Jake 😊

    • I will indeed Aina. He’s currently on an Alaskan “Cruise to Christianity” seeking converts in the “great white north” .. But maybe I’ll call him on his “soul phone” and see how he’s doing..I will pass on your salutations at that time..lol

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

