A Message From Phoenix

      I’m not exactly sure what to say about this one, this time. As I have posted it before,(I too, need a Mulligan, now and then) I am thus reluctant, to return “to those thrilling days of yesteryear” and merely read and repeat what has already been said. I almost feel that it would be a kind of cheating to do so… Instead, I will offer you my current reflection as to the meaning of this poem.

     Every day is a new day, a new beginning. Don’t let yesterday’s negatives or set backs keep you down. But, by the same token, don’t listen to, or be swayed by, the “take it easy, don’t worry, everything is going to be okay,  just wait and see,” crowd… If things are not well within yourself or your life, change them. You cannot wait for everything to be “okay.”  Change,,, alter what is keeping you down, start small if need be, but change something that is a detriment to your “rising from the ashes” to “fly again”!!

     I’m now afraid to go back and peek at what I said when this was first published. So taking the cowards way out… I won’t..

     If you are reading this, it is officially Friday, have a great, (President’s Day, USA) weekend everyone.

Jake.

Image by Google search

     

    

A MESSAGE FROM PHOENIX

 The Phoenix, out of ashes rose,

to fly again, the legend goes.

Could it be true, do you suppose?

~

 Or, just another fairy tale,

told upon a grander scale,

to comfort those, in need who fail.

~

To see life, in its breadth and scope,

and to offer them, a speck of hope,

that all’s not lost, if you can cope.

~

 With, what today has given you,

then rest yourself, when it is through,

to rise again, and begin anew!

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                         Jan. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/17/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, craft, fire, history, humor, in my opinion, life, reflections, Spirits, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Message From Phoenix

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Great post today, Jake. I think that sometimes folks try to make excuses for their lives and don’t take control of things that they can take control of. Everyone has struggles and trials in life but at the end of the day—it is up to each person to take a look at where they are at and see if they need to make some adjustments. I must admit I get a little tired of folks who blame their life circumstances on past events and just can’t seem to move on. I get it. But if you want to be a productive individual there is some point where you have to move on. Sorry–getting off my soapbox….

    • Apologies are never required from you Beth Ann, I’m so glad to “hear” you speak your mind.. As far as the post is concerned, you are 100% correct. In the society that has emerged, at least in this country, the attitude of, {“Poor me. I hate my life. Why me? God hates me!!”} has been sired by the “Social Services” and their replacement of traditional family assistance…And thereby fostering a lack of self-esteem, ambition,and self-respect. I think that is why I said in the lead-in, that even the smallest positive change is a sign of “healing” whatever itis that is trying tobeat you and keep you “under control”!!! As always, thanks for your comments and support, Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

