Of Poems and Ponderings

    On February 11, 2011 the first post of poemsandponderings.wordpress.com appeared in print, without fanfare or expectations of notoriety or delusions of grandeur..(Mission Accomplished!!) But, what has transpired over the past year has been a connection to many, extremely kind, talented, compassionate, and spiritual new friends, who come from varied walks of life, religious beliefs, nations and continents, genders, and age groups, with a common thread…Self-expression! The greatest ability of the world-wide-web is the power to communicate,(through relative anonymity) with others, who may want to read/hear/see, something that we, as individuals, would wish to share.

     I would now like to say THANK YOU to you all who have endured the journey with me, either from the beginning or along the way, here is how it all began.

 Jake.

OF POEMS AND PONDERINGS

 Beyond this mark,

I hope you will find,

poems and ponderings,

of many a kind.

*

 Some to bring laughter,

and some to reflect,

I say without question,

and without disrespect.

*

 For the words that I write,

are those that I feel,

at least, at that moment,

my thoughts I reveal.

*

 They are intended,

to entertain, some, with wit,

and while some are pure fiction,

some, the truth, hold a bit.

*

 And many I hope,

some thought, will evoke,

while others, are merely,

my way of a joke.

*

 Others are stories,

in rhyming form,

and one or a couple,

may someone, inform.

*

 My wish is for all,

who read what I write,

to find something, or other,

that they think is alright.

*

 And maybe one day,

those words, they’ll repeat,

preferably, fore

my life is complete.

***

                                                                         Jack Downing

2009

copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/11/12  

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in history, humor, old days, poet, ponderings, reflections, religion, spiritual, thoughts, truth, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Of Poems and Ponderings

  1. sally says:

    excellent as usual….

  2. sally says:

    and congrats….happy anniversary.. many many more……

  3. HAPPY BLOGAVERSARY!!!! Yayyyyyy! So happy to be a part of your readership. Not sure when I actually started following you but it was pretty early on and I have totally enjoyed the journey! You sometimes surprise me, challenge me and inspire me but always always—you challenge me to be a better writer. Thanks for a great year and I am raising my coffee cup in salute to you and wishing that we have many many more years of blogging together!!!

    • I am touched,, (at leastthat’s what the psychiatric community hasnotated in my file) by your words and sentiments Beth Ann. It is you who are inspiring.. I don’t know where this blog would be without you(actually I don’t know where it is now… Where did I put that bloggy-thing anyway?) andthe select few who have been there from, or near the start. It is hard to believe that it hasONLY been one year and yet..It’s been a wholeYEAR, huzzah!! Your contributions have not gone unnoticed nor unappreciated. You are a special person, and I’m proud to call you friend. Thanks for coming along. Jake.

      ________________________________

  4. I am certainly glad you are part of my wp family and Kate too.

    • Thank you for having me..I think I’m the crazy/strange/weird uncle, that most families have hidden away somewhere. My aunt Helen used to say…”We looked up your family tree..and you are the sap”!!

      ________________________________

  5. adeeyoyo says:

    HAPPY BLOGAVERSARY! Well done, jake. 😀

Leave a Reply

