Sleepy

     Perhaps my least favorite of all the seven poems, that is why I saved it for Saturday..The quietest of all blogging days, at least in my limited experience. As I am working on Sunday’s Super Bowl post, no frills here..

     Have a supersonic Saturday,

Jake.

Barney was the perfect actor chosen to play the part of  “Sleepy” in the upcoming production based on a true story…

The color and gender were changed to protect the identity of the real Sleepy, but the ever-vigilant paparazzi captured this photo recently.

Feed Me or I'll Kill You

Sleepy

 From the first day

of his arrival,

and, as if depending

on his survival,

he slept.

*

 For hours on end

he’d curl in a ball,

waking only for food

and then devour it all,

then he slept.

*

 But, when the people around him

laid down their head,

he’d stir once again

and scratch at their bed,

he had slept.

*

 But, it was time to go out

and well-rested for sure,

he’d yawn and he’d stretch

and wait at the door,

then they slept.

*

 Oh yes, he was a pain

that lazy old cat,

’twas a wonder to none

how he got so fat,

he slept, and he ate, and he slept.

***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/4/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Animals, cats, Family, Feast, football, mischievious, Sleep, Sports, Sunday, truth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleepy

  1. sally says:

    I know some people like that ………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

