Life’s Echoes

     January has been a very prolific month for me, as far as my writing is concerned. From out of nowhere come phrases or words that spark something or other in my mind, and off we go.. As I have said, I tend to be diverse in my poetry, nothing is safe and, (almost) nothing is off-limits. It is that fact which makes the ‘what-to-post’ decision that much more difficult. I question myself, on the subject matter or the genre or what do I think the reader would like today, and still, usually it comes down to scanning the “library,”  like a mental ‘wheel of chance’ and see where it lands. With that being said, when I do go through a period of “creativity” I do have a tendency to “show-off” some of the latest things, that I really like, then save the others for a spin of the wheel at a later date. Here is one that I really like. If you have spent any time with a senior citizen, (or two) then you will know exactly what this poem is saying. I do hope you will like it.

     Have a serene Saturday,

Jake.

Life’s Echoes

 While some would say, it’s dementia,

the old-timer’s mind, isn’t quite so sound.

They’re living here in the present,

but, to the past their thoughts be bound.

Where, each and every small detail,

in their memory, can be found.

But to them, it’s just life’s echoes,

that are coming back around.

***

 Jack Downing

Jan. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/28/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Earth and Us, Elders, environment, life, lifetime, old days, poet, reflections, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life’s Echoes

  1. sally says:

    THIS IS GOING UP ON MY FRIDGE …ESPECIALLY TODAY…MY BIRTHDAY……THANKYOU JACK

    • I hope you canremember where the kitchen is, now that you have crossed that “Magic Line” hahaha. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SAL. Thanks as always for your comments and participation.

      ________________________________

  2. Having entered my seventh decade I really relate. You have to be that old to even have echoes. Oh no not dementia. We have become more than vapid one dimensional beings now.

    • So many clinical references in use today, we used to say stuff like..He’s gone hoopy, or the old gal’s lost her marbles.. I sawthis t-shirt once that said, and I’ll have to paraphrase for you as my memory isn’t as good as it’s gonna be.. ‘I havegone to find myself, if I shouldget back, before I do, hold me here, until Icome back’.. That about sums it up doesn’t it?

      ________________________________

  3. fakelikeme says:

    Love the poetry, and your honesty too. Great blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

