For The Fun Of It

     I feel that I must offer a disclaimer before anyone reads this poem. I would like to say up-front that I am not insensitive to the sorrow and heartbreak that accidental  injuries or death can bring to those who have to endure the misfortunes that may occur during the pursuit of  legitimate entertainment. It is to the bizarre, unsupervised and sometimes just plain stupid attempts at “fun,” (usually involving alcohol and/or other sense altering substances) to which I am referring. The poem itself is meant to be somewhat humorous and I hope that it is received in that vein.

Have a wonderous Wednesday,

Jake.  

FOR THE FUN OF IT

 Now fire and flood,

and flesh and blood,

are disasters, of a natural kind.

But, the damage done,

in the quest for fun,

is what, really boggles the mind.

*

 Like jumping off a bridge,

or off a mountain ridge,

to see how it feels, to fly.

I seem to laugh at the story,

and though, it’s usually gory,

when another poor moron, dies.

*

 Or driving on the ice,

after drinking, how nice,

til the machine, goes into the drink.

And, they have to wait until spring,

to raise, you and the thing,

you could have been, the missing link.

*

 Now it’s said that you,

can’t be in two,

places, at the very same time.

But, play chicken with a train,

and they’ll gather, your remains,

from seven, eight, or nine.

*

 So, while fire and flood,

and flesh and blood,

are disasters, of a natural kind.

But, the damage that’s done,

in the quest for fun,

is what, really boggles the mind.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                          Feb. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/25/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in beer, blood and gore, craft, demise, humor, judgement, mountains, rum, warning, whiskey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For The Fun Of It

  1. This humor of yours is killing me. Oooops.

    • Thank you, I was afraid it would be taken the wrong way.. I’m glad y’all liked it..Thanks again. Bless yer heart. Iread yer i-phone’s post already..as y’all may have guessed.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

