The Serpent

     The Right Reverend Jake stopped by Saturday and reminded me that I have been somewhat negligent in my Sunday posts as of late, and that my poems of a moral nature should at least be given as much ink (print) as the rest of my ‘crap’ (his word, not mine) and that I had better start getting the message out. Reverend Jake is convinced that he and I together, are charged with changing the tide of moral turpitude.  After a rather lengthy discussion as to the merits of my ‘crap,’ I admitted that perhaps I had been less than diligent in my duties. So I am afraid my Brothers and Sisters you are in for another of the Reverend’s favorites.. 

        So on this Sunday… Be at peace with yourself and let the world follow suit..

 Jake “the lesser” (his words, not mine)

  

 THE SERPENT

 In answer, to the serpent’s beckon,

   that’s when, Eden fell.

and what, will be our serpent?

   I reckon, time will tell.

*

 The serpent, is temptation,

and the promise, that it holds,

take this, you’ll like it, it’s okay,

is how it all unfolds.

*

 Wanting more, than what we have,

is human, it will say,

go ahead, and have your fill,

the fruit, is sweet today.

*

 But, the fruit, turns bitter,

and fills us all, with sorrow,

for what, we wanted, yesterday,

we’ll crave, all the more, tomorrow.

***

 Jack Downing

June 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/22/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Gardens, humor, joy and sorrow, life, spiritual, Sunday, wishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Serpent

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Jake the lesser is definitely not lesser!!! Great Sunday post!! Thanks for the intro—and the chuckles! Have a blessed Sunday!

  2. Ahh… the apple revisited! Or at least the impetus behind it. Eris, goddess of discord, making her appearance in the form of a serpent (metaphorically speaking). Still showing us the truth about ourselves, I’d say. Great poem. So true. By the way, I love the beautiful apple in your picture. It’s perfect!

    • Ah, what about the serpent? You’re going to give the poor thing an inferiorty complex…I can hear him now..”the apple the apple, it’s always about the apple. What about Meee??? ha ha ha .. Thanks as always for your thoughtfulcomments. Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

