A True Man’s Passing

     A year, one whole year, has passed already. So quickly are the days and months of our lives flowing onward. One year ago this past week, a friend lost a battle to cancer. He was a man in all respects of the word. Son, husband, father, firefighter, hunter, fisherman, friend. A man of conviction and dedication to family. And he loved the outdoors and all things associated with it and he managed to fit a lot of living into a relatively short span of life. I posted this last year at the time of his passing, it is in truth, a look at his last communication with the people he loved most. I also wrote “Brother To The Hawk” in his honor as well, which I will post this week. His sister Janice had it mounted and framed and presented it to his widow, Maureen. You can’t imagine how proud that made me. 

      May God Rest your soul, Mike.

Jake.

A TRUE MAN’S PASSING

 The ground now holds,

within its embrace,

a man the like,

that legend, has trace.

Husband, companion,

father and friend,

and not, with a whimper,

did he march to the end.

*

 With, his head held high,

and a glass to his lip,

a toast” said he,

some Jameson, all sip.

I drink to my family,

of which I’ve been blessed.

And I’ll thank God Himself,

as I go to my rest.”

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                         Jan. 12, 2011

+

In Tribute to Mike Urban

1953-2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/15/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Earth and Us, Family, Firefighter, fleeting time, God, history, life, Loss of a friend, soul, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A True Man’s Passing

  1. Despite the way things are I still feel cheated when such people are taken

  2. Beth Ann says:

    What a lovely poem, Jake. He sounds like a fine man who is missed by many.

  3. Michael says:

    Nice post Jake. You are a very thoughtful man. Best Regards. !!!

  4. Jan Delaney says:

    What a beautiful tribute to Mike, Jack! Loved the sentiments in “Hawk” – and really find it touching that you thought to do another one a year later…..just sent it along to the rest of the family…..and to think Mike wondered out loud “will anyone remember me once I’m gone?”….!!!!! Thanks for remembering a great guy who we still miss every day.

    • Thanks Jan, the funny part is, yesterday(Sat.) I was killing some time up in saxonville and I ended up at the cemetery and that day flashed back on me..He will be remembered for a long, long time.. My regards andbest wishesto all the family. Jake.

      ________________________________

  5. Maureen Urban says:

    Yes Jack, it is incredible that you’d remember Mike again, a year later and with another beautiful poem. It brings me back to being on Denise’s deck on that beautiful warm summer day in early Aug. 2010, when Mike & I first read some of your poems. We were so impressed – & shocked too I must admit – as you don’t fit the profile of a poet! I’ll be getting this most recent poem framed & will find a worthy spot in the house to display it. Thank you for writing & sharing these 2 poems with us – they are sacred gifts to me.

    • You gave me goose-bumps Mo, you can’t know how muchyour comment means to me. I remember that day so clearly and I took away an incredible feeling of serenity from you both. I don’t have to tell you that Mike was a special person, andwe are allthe better for havingknown him. I deeply appreciate your kind words for my poetry, even if I don’t fit the profile of a poet..Best Wishes to all, Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

