Jordan’s Brook

      I feel at this time that I must be totally honest with all of you. If you have read this, or any other poem or post here at “poemsandponderings” before, and you say, ‘why is this guy showing us this one again,’ well here is the absolute truth. I am not a youngster anymore and I am sometimes forgetful, (and sometimes, that’s just an excuse I use) but for a fact, on occasion, I am frankly just too busy (read lazy) to go back and research whether I’ve posted them in the past or not. And thirdly, I feel that perhaps, someone may consider it a public service. Especially those, who have recently joined the team and have no wish/patience/stomach, to go back and read from the archives. You know… “if the mountain won’t come to Mohammad, then Mohammad must go to the mountain,” sort of thing. So, with the “rambling” finished, I now and possibly once again,, present  you with this.

     Have a Friday to remember everyone, (I hope I can)

Jake.

JORDAN’S BROOK

 I have lived inside,

this shell, that’s I,

for decades six, plus more,

and I’ve searched my mind,

but, have yet to find,

any why’s or for’s.

*

 Is there a key,

to why I be,

and where, may it be found?

In open sight,

at day and night,

or like treasure, in the ground?

*

 The answer, to the riddle,

is likely, in the middle,

where I, have yet to look.

Or will it lay,

until Judgement Day,

When I cross, sweet Jordan‘s brook?

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                           Jan. 2010

Ps. As you may have noticed, my resolution to be less verbose in my introductions has gone by the boards. Upon request (ariadnesdaughter, check out her blog) among (no)others have stated that they enjoyed the long-winded diatribes intros. So back by popular demand, etc. etc….

J.

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/13/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in honesty, lifetime, mountains, old days, poet, spiritual, thoughts, truth, Why is it? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jordan’s Brook

  1. Michael says:

    Your new format is great Jake. Keep up with it. Thanks for visiting and Best Regards. !!!

  2. I love the poem and I’m laughing at your ps! Thanks for mentioning my blog and yes, keep reposting your earlier posts! Having a great Friday, hope you are, too!

Leave a Reply

