A Blessing, Another Blessing and Yet Another Blessing

     For my final post for 2011, I will leave you all, with a few blessings for  2012. These are my heartfelt wishes for each of you, my family and friends. May God Bless you, one and all.

     I will be taking a couple of days to reflect on a year that has given me a look into the world of “blogging” and so many new friends. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! Come back on Tuesday, please! 

Jake.

A BLESSING

 May the good Lord,

guide your footsteps.

May your path,

be free of stones.

May He smile,

and welcome you.

When that pathway,

leads you home.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                            May 2010

…………………………………………………….

  ANOTHER BLESSING

 May you carry your joys,

in a barrow,

and your troubles, in a thimble,

half-full.

***

  Jack Downing

  July 2011

………………………………………………….

YET, ANOTHER BLESSING

 May the Good Lord always,

remember your name,

and may He prepare, for you,

a grand place.

And may you remember,

to afford Him, the same,

and daily request,

He not race.

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                            Aug. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/31/11

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in blessings, Family, God, Life's Journey, Promise Land, reception, spiritual, wishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Blessing, Another Blessing and Yet Another Blessing

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    I wish you everything of the very best in the new year, Jake! These blessings say it all and more! Thank you.

  2. Michael says:

    Have a Happy New Year Jake. May 2012 be a year fill with love, happiness, good health, prosperity, success and last but not least with Blessings one after another and another and another throughout the year. Michael.

  3. Like the thimble one – sounds as Irish as you can get.

    • Oh, and does it now? And I scribed it with me own wee hand, I must have a leprechaun as one of me personalities. Tank ya far the compliment tho. And agreat and joyous New Year to yourself. ‘May youtoil without sweat. May you prosper without debt, and may luckcome to rest, upon yourevery bet.’ How’s that for a blessing, huh? I’m gonna use it sometime. Look for”Carl’s Blessing” coming soon to a blog near you.

      ________________________________

  4. yearstricken says:

    These are lovely, Jack. What a lovely New Year’s gift. Happy New Year.

    • Thank you so much, the Irish in me sneaks out now and then. Have the happiest of New Year’s and keep that wit a’flowin’. Love your blog.. Jake. ps. If you wouldn’t mind too much, could you tell me your first name, or at least a sobriquet,(love that word)that I might use when we communicate one on one? If you’d rather not, that’s okay too. J.

      ________________________________

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Wonderful, Jake! Thanks for the blessings. I may have to get the author’s permission to use on cards again……:-)

    • So happy you enjoyed them Beth Ann. The “leprechaun” is another of the personalities that I blame for the lousy stuff. But even he, like the blind squirrel finds, an acorn now and then..Happiest of New Years to you and the family. Jake.

      ________________________________

  6. yearstricken says:

    I wrote “Jack,” but I meant Jake. I promise never to do that again this year. :)

    • I’d forgive you anyway..As I answer to many handles, Jack being one of the more acceptable. [Almost] anything that begins with a ‘J’ will receive an acknowledgement,of some type.Examples; Jakestah, jamoch, jamocha, jerk, jackass, John(with the capital/upper caseJ) and the list goes on and on…lol. Again, I hopefor you and yours a wonderful New Year. Jake,Jack, Ja..oh you know.

      ________________________________

  7. Pingback: HAPPY NEW YEAR, WORLD! – LET’S MAKE OUR LIVES BETTER IN 2012! | GoodOleWoody's Blog

Leave a Reply

