Christmas Cheer

     I am really amazed at what comes through the “subway station,” that is my mind. I don’t know how this one came about. (I know I say that all the time, but it’s true) I just started thinking of the “old days” when it was extremely common-place to give bottles of liquor or to “share a drink” with acquaintances as a show of appreciation for their business, and/or friendship, or just to acknowledge the “Season of Giving,” to the point of everyone being ‘hammered’ for practically the entire week before Christmas. A lot of people have had trouble with that, personally and professionally, families and innocents have suffered for it, and the increased severity of the ‘drunk driving‘ laws has further opened our eyes to the dangers of that ‘tradition’. Oh, and did I mention the company/office Christmas Party?  So with this poem I hope to give us all something to think about, as Christmas week will be fast upon us. It is a humorous poem on a serious subject, I hope you will like it. Please keep yourselves safe.   

     Have a sensational Saturday,

Jake.

Christmas Cheer

 Christmas cheer,

is neither wine,

nor beer,

nor egg nog,

laced with brandy.

No, it’s not toddies,

or whiskey,

for that could be risky,

and may, lead to some,

feeling randy.

 *

 The spirit’s inside,

there’s no need,

to imbibe,

just let it flow,

from inside to out.

And with those,

you hold dear,

be of good cheer,

and don’t, be the one,

talked about.

 ***

 Jack Downing

Dec. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/17/11

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in beer, history, old days, rum, Spirits, whiskey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Cheer

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    I liked that last line – it applies particularly to office parties and the postmortems. It is shocking to see the numbers of people killed in road accidents where liquor is invoved! Good poem, Jack.

    • Thanks Denise. My mom (beingof Irish descent)used to say, that her mother, used tosay, “They aremore to be pitied, than talked about.” The insight of that was lost on me for a long time, until, I really gave it some thought…And then I stole it and used it in one of my poems… I remember my dad coming home with these tall boxes all shining and colorful,(whiskey) gifts from the restaurants that he used to deliver to,or from friends and aquaintences. That was the way of the world back then. I also remember that whenwe took the toll road to my aunt’s house, another Downing family tradition,and we always had a “nip” for the toll taker along with a “Merry Christmas.” That tradition was carried on long after my dad’s passing… I don’t do that anymore, perhaps to the chagrin of the cold and lonely toll taker. Wow, guess Itook a double shot of verbosity this morning. Thanks again.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

