The Angler

     The other day I published “The World’s Worst Fisherman” to rave reviews, I might add.(Even if that is not exactly true.) Well it got me to thinking about another poem that I wrote on the subject of fishing or angling as it is sometimes called, (though I don’t know by whom) and I thought that I could use that as a catalyst for an additional post.

     As background for this poem, I will tell you that a few years ago my daughter and my future son-in-law were living in this house that sat right on a beautiful little pond, and he being an avid fisherman was in his glory. The view in the morning was picturesque and gave me the inspiration for one of my first poems.

     Picture the scene, an early morning mist floating just off the water, a solo boat gliding, upon a mirror-like surface, rippled only by the dipping of the oars. And a quest continues…

     Is anyone else getting the urge for fish and chips? Or is it just me?

I hope you all have a Thursday to remember,

Jake.

THE ANGLER

 The morning mist sits softly,

on the pond, outside my door,

while the angler, glides in silence,

with the dipping, of each oar,

slowly, yet with purpose,

to that spot, along the shore,

where, he had been denied,

the trophy catch, before.

*

 Excitement builds, anew within,

each time, he casts his line,

thinking always, that today,

that monster, will be mine,

he cannot hide forever,

that specimen, so fine,

it comes to him, in visions,

so clear, and well-defined.

*

 An hour passed, and I should go,

yet, I sit and stay,

to watch him cast, his line again,

and then, take out the play,

and as I watch, I wonder,

and to myself, I say,

just what, or who, was hooked,

the day, the big one, got away.

***

Jack Downing

May 2009

©copyright Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed consent of the author. JRD 12/08/11

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in craft, early risers, Earth and Us, environment, inner satisfaction, life, peace, pride, Success, the shore. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Angler

  1. This goes in your “Jack’s good ones” file.

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Oh, Jack, this is SO exactly what happpens to me!

    • It, is a special kind of calm, isn’t it Denise?…Even now,(December) thinking about it, makes me smile. Or did you mean the compulsion to keep going after the things thatyou want? ha ha ha.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

