The Devil’s Whiskey

     This was at first a song.. I had thought it somewhat  “Dylanesque,”  and more than somewhat presumptuous and pretentious on my part. It just flowed, and took on a life of its own. There is more to it than meets the eye, I will not offer a challenge, as I promised not to do that again, but it turned out to be a poem with a moral. I do hope you will enjoy reading it, and just for fun, read it as Bob Dylan might recite it.

     Oh, it has been quite awhile since I thanked all of you who have clicked the “like” button for the balderdash that I spew forth on a regular basis, as you know a lot of you have “do not reply” on your “like” hits, so I cannot tell you individually how much I appreciate your support. So a great big collective THANKS to all.

Jake.

THE DEVIL’S WHISKEY

 Well an angel said she loved me,

but she lied,

and the devil washed away,

the tears I cried.

I chased her straight through hell,

and it was there she wished me well,

then abandoned me, and crossed,

the other side.

*

 So, I took the devil’s whiskey,

without pride,

and just a taste at first,

was all I tried.

But, it was that second pour,

that left me wanting more,

and all my Sunday teachings,

I defied.

*

 But, she was not an angel,

after all,

just another demon,

for the fall.

Seeking out the soul of man,

and with loves promise, damned,

pours a drink of devil’s whiskey,

for last call.

*

 So, if an angel says she loves you,

give up hope.

You’ll find more love at the end,

of the hangman’s rope.

 She’ll rip the heart right from your chest,

then leave, and say it’s best.

And you’ll take the devil’s whiskey,

just to cope.

*

 For the angel and the whiskey,

are the same,

and the weakness of the spirit,

is their aim.

They’ll slowly worm inside,

and behind a love, they’ll hide.

Then in the end the demon,

stakes its claim.

*

 So, if an angel says she loves you,

give up hope.

You’ll find more love at the end,

of the hangman’s rope.

She’ll rip the heart right from your chest,

then leave, and say it’s best.

And you’ll need the devil’s whiskey,

just to cope.

***

Jack Downing

Nov. 2011

©copyright Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed consent of the author.JRD 12/02/11

  

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Challenges, fire, joy and sorrow, life, poet, song writer, soul, Spirits, torment, whiskey. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Devil’s Whiskey

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Oh boy, what truths there are in here, Jack. It has ruined so many lives… and here comes Christmas again, with lovely pudding and, of course, the brandy sauce. Luckily I don’t have a problem, but I have known some who do, and others who constanty encourage them to have ‘just a taste’, not understanding – it’s criminal!

    • Yet,lovecan be anaddiction too, and when unrequited itcan be as destructive as thewhiskey and/or other substances…”the angel and the whiskey are the same”… It is really a great feeling when people as talented as yourselffind some small pleasure in what I am doing here..Denise youare a valuedallyand I hope you continue to share your insight with me.Thanks so much, Jake.

      ________________________________

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Great words! There are many kinds of addictions in life that we can be tempted with, aren’t there?? I am torn to admit what mine is……I think it might be crafting….hahahahah!!! Seriously- great words and I can totally see Dylan doing it…..go ahead–submit it…:-)

    • See that’s how good you are…. The rest of us would have said ‘I’m torn to admit what mine ARE,’yet, you used the singular, you are a saint.. Hmm Saint Beth Ann, has kind of a ring to it huh?

      ________________________________

  3. Pingback: Devil or Angel? | My Blog

  4. Pingback: Devil or Angel? | Danroberson's Blog

Leave a Reply

